� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� "Praise the Lord, Nobody's Home..." �
4:03 p.m., 2003-11-21

Screw it. I was going to write this whole entry about a really funny answering machine I came across this morning, for a person of a rather religious nature, whose outgoing message began, "Praise the Lord, nobody�s home�", but I am now in such a fit of homicidal pique, that if I even endeavor to make with the funny, my dry, brittle, mirthless laughter might scrape the paint right off these chintzy walls. Allow me to explain:

Remember my travails with Sally? Bear that whole rigmarole in mind while I tell you a little more about Anna, Sally�s co-worker and my point-person in the east coast office now that Keiko has moved on to bigger and better things. Now I�ve got nothing personal against Anna, that lying whore, but a few things have happened of late to color my opinion of her.

To begin with, she�s like totally OCD about e-mail. I get literally 25 messages from her every single day, and only five of them will be actual requests --- the others will be a recap of the original request, a forwarded reply from the client (who will have already Cc:-ed me on their original response), a "thank you" for answering the original e-mail, and a reply to the client (Cc:-ed to me, natch) recapping the response I�ll have already sent to the client.

Second of all, she�s constantly asking me to do things that are totally outside of my purview. For instance, this week alone, she has sent me four requests to process and print out reports for different clients. I neither process nor print out any of the reports she�s asking for, mind you, but for some reason she�s sending the request to me, rather than the Data Entry people who have always taken care of them. So I forwarded the requests on, and then it was out of my hands. Or so I thought!

Today I found out that Sally, Anna, and their supervisor Circe all complained about me to Sophie, saying I don�t "follow through" "adequately" on their myriad and ludicrous demands. First of all�first of all, that�s blood shooting out of my ears! Second of all, I have spoken to Circe a grand, motherfucking total of ONCE, at which time she made a singular demand that I met within the next ten minutes (although I didn�t even find out until much, much later that she had already lodged the complaint by that time). Third of all, I can almost understand Anna complaining, since she�s totally OCD about e-mail, and would need me to publish a comprehensive journal of my findings before she felt the follow-through was "adequate", but the fact that Sally would have the gall to even get in on that action is so ridiculous that it would be funny, were it not for the blood shooting out of my ears.

Sally, who still hasn�t replied to e-mails I sent her in June. Sally, who, when she does respond, averages about a week to do so. Sally, who couldn�t find her own ass with the aid of both hands, a compass, a Sherpa, two bloodhounds, a troop of boy scouts, a flare gun, a telescope, a team of forensic scientists, and Sacajawea leading the way.

I am fortunate in that Sophie�s got my back on this one (I�m not the only one who feels this way), but still. I�m about to lose my own religion.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "how to smoke a ham" And: persis khambatta love life I�m Watching: Tru Calling, and, oy vey, this show is bad. I�m Reading: A bunch of stupid reports that need to be faxed. Thanks, Sally. You ho.

A Year Ago, I Said:

"Before we get started, I have to ask: is Dawson's Creek, like, the worst show ever, or what?"
In Which Our Hero Hates Dawson�s Creek

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Once More Into the Blech

my next adventure: Dear Miss Gwyneth

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news