� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� The Travelling Show �
1:21 p.m., 2004-07-12

Dr. Goodhead: Are you enjoying your new car?

Me: Very much so. I drive to the grocery store now! I can buy ice cream again!

Dr. Goodhead: Oh, the things we take for granted.

Me: Tell me about it. Of course, you couldn�t pry me from behind the wheel with a crowbar. I mean, I practically drive to the mailbox now.

Dr. Goodhead: Isn�t your mailbox, like, inside your building?

Me: Well, yeah, but it�s way up at the front, and our apartment is in the back, so I can drive around to the front of the building and go up the steps and voila!

Dr. Goodhead: I�m going to assume that, in this instance, �voila� means �lazy�.

Me: No, in this instance �voila� means �I have a new convertible and you couldn�t tear gas me out of it�.

Dr. Goodhead: Have you been driving it with the top down?

Me: Um�?

Dr. Goodhead: What?

Me: �Are you kidding?

Dr. Goodhead: What, why?

Me: The top is down. Unless it rains daggers from the sky, the top will be down. Even if it�s 14 degrees out, I�m going to have the top down, and the freezing, Arctic wind will be blowing through my hair.

Dr. Goodhead: That�s a really bold claim to make, coming from someone living in Los Angeles.

Me: Listen, it could happen! Didn�t you see The Day After Tomorrow?

Dr. Goodhead: Did anyone see The Day After Tomorrow?

Me: Okay, good point.

Dr. Goodhead: But it�s nice to have a convertible, despite the imminent possibility of radical weather shifts and the dawn of a new ice age?

Me: Oh, yeah, for sure. Although there are a certain number of other hazards.

Dr. Goodhead: Such as�

Me: Sunburn.

Dr. Goodhead: Oh, yeah.

Me: And also the fact that I can no longer rock out to my guilty pleasure music, because I can�t pretend that no one hears what I�m playing on my car stereo anymore.

Dr. Goodhead: So much for Britney.

Me: Please. Britney�s the least embarrassing of my guilty pleasure music. And I can�t sing, or do my little in-the-car dance when my favorite songs come on.

Dr. Goodhead: I have a feeling you do those anyway.

Me: Okay, I do, but now everyone stares at me! And I don�t know if my music is cool or not. What if they�re like, "Who is this dude, and why�s he rocking out to Kenny G?"

Dr. Goodhead: I don�t necessarily consider myself a pop culture maven or anything, but I feel pretty secure in the knowledge that Kenny G is extremely not cool.

Me: Well, I would never actually listen to Kenny G, but I needed an example.

Dr. Goodhead: Sure. Well, you know, the cool quotient in general is automatically upped by virtue of the fact that you�re driving a convertible. So, stuff that would ordinarily be lame is just�kind of lame.

Me: Kenny G is always lame. He�s the kind of lame that destroys everything it touches. He�s the kind of lame that would ruin convertibles for everyone else if someone driving one started listening to him.

Dr. Goodhead: I never realized that driving a convertible came with such heavy civic responsibility.

Me: When it comes to Kenny G, it�s a burden I willingly shoulder.

Dr. Goodhead: You know, you don�t need to stop doing your little dances all together; what you really need is some cool choreography!

Me: And back-up dancers!

Dr. Goodhead: Totally back-up dancers. And then you could fall in "love" with one, and you guys could have a whirlwind romance and get married even though he�s already got one kid and another on the way with his ex-girlfrie�

Me: Whoa, whoa, whoa! Just because I�ll listen to Britney doesn�t mean I want to be her crazy ass!

Dr. Goodhead: She puts on a good show, though.

Me: True. Although I don�t know that I want a lot of pyrotechnics going on in my car, either.

Dr. Goodhead: A valid point.

Me: But I think we�re onto something with this. I could sell t-shirts emblazoned with "The Dr. No Experience" or something, and turn my embarrassing habit into a full-fledged career!

Dr. Goodhead: Like Corey Feldman.

Me: I�ll be a local celebrity, like that lady with all the billboards.

Dr. Goodhead: Hopefully not just like her, because she�s scary. Would you take requests?

Me: You mean like "Free Bird" and "Jailhouse Rock"?

Dr. Goodhead: I mean like "Shut up" and "Keep your eyes on the road".

Me: Oh, those. I don�t do them now, why would I start?

Dr. Goodhead: Point taken.

Me: Oh, shoot, here�s my turn -- I should probably go.

Dr. Goodhead: Wait, you�re in the car now?

Me: Well, yeah. I have to get the mail.

Dr. Goodhead: Right. Have a good show!

Me: Always, my friend. Always.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: don�t you hate pants? I�m Watching: The 4400, which is good in parts�and lame in parts. I�m Reading: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, because it�s about time.

A Year Ago, I Said:

�but I was still biting my nails for the last fifteen minutes or so.

Okay, technically I was biting Reese�s Peanut Butter Cups, but that�s only because my nails are frightfully devoid of chocolatey goodness.
Thoroughly Maddening Millie
7-10-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Misheard it Through the Grapevine

my next adventure: Soak Up the Sun AT YOUR OWN RISK!

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news