� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Misheard it Through the Grapevine �
2:05 p.m., 2004-07-09

Have you ever been talking to some people about something you weren�t supposed to be talking about, and then someone else walks in and you all kind of shut up immediately and act really awkward, and the new person totally thinks you were just talking shit about them, which you weren�t, but you can�t very well explain that, because to explain it you�d have to tell the new person about the same thing you weren�t supposed to be telling the other people in the first place, but you don�t want the new person thinking you were talking about them, but if you tell them then you suck for telling even more people about the thing you�re not supposed to tell, and if you don�t tell, you look like a little bitch, but even if you do tell, and you explain that it wasn�t like you were talking smack, you were still keeping secrets, and then you look like an elitist snob or something, and you�re basically just fucked either way? I hate that.

That happened to me earlier this morning. I was telling Tony and China about how Corinne had resigned, about which I was admittedly kind of sworn to secrecy, but frankly, that�s idiotic. How long is it supposed to remain a secret, exactly? I think it�ll come out pretty quickly once she stops showing up for work, and all. Anyway, I had to tell them, because they�re kind of my lifeline around here (and we�re keeping it just between us, anyway -- I swore them to secrecy!), but while I was in mid-bean-spill, the door opened and in sauntered New New New Girl!

Granted I should have been expecting the intrusion, since we were getting ready to have a meeting and whatever, but how was I supposed to know she�d come busting through the door like a bull out of a shoot, and right in the middle of my sentence? I kind of faltered, and tried to change course in the middle ("So anyway, Corinne told me that she was totally fed up wi�uh, with�meatballs! She�s so sick of those darn meatballs she could just scream! Can you believe it?"), but NNNG totally had this kicked-puppy look on her face and I could tell she thought she interrupted me in the middle of, "That new girl sucks, y�all, and everyone�s fed up with her crap," or something similar. It didn�t help that none of us could think of a new subject fast enough to fill the sudden void, either.

So we all just kind of milled about awkwardly for a moment, and I was all, "Man I hate these meetings," and NNNG gave me this look like, "Why don�t you just admit that what you really hate is ME, you BASTARD?!" And then she kind of agreed all mumbley, and I considered just telling her what we were talking about, but it didn�t seem appropriate. I don�t know why it didn�t seem appropriate�like you suddenly need seniority to have all the juicy inter-office gossip told to you (like this is juicy gossip anyway, I mean, everyone�s going to find out sooner or later).

Maybe it�s a trust thing, you know? Like, she�s all new -- we can�t be sure she wouldn�t mention it to Sophie or something, right? Not that she would necessarily do it in a tattletale way ("Those guys? They were talking downstairs? And they totally said that Corinne said that she was quitting, and it was supposed to be a secret but they were saying it anyway!"), but she might say something not really realizing that she shouldn�t, because Sophie likes to keep her secrets�well, secret. Whether or not it makes sense to anyone else why that particular bit of information should require careful dissemination.

Anyway, it�s all kind of moot now. I mean, we�ve been chummy with NNNG all day, and I don�t think she thinks that we think she�s a loser, or whatever, and I don�t think she thinks we were talking about her when she caught us earlier. Anymore. Or�something.

And now, if you�ll excuse me, I have to go downstairs and talk about all the above with Tony and China!

Someone Got Here By Searching For: I slept with Melissa Etheridge I�m Watching: Snippets of Big Brother 5. How the hell did that show make it to 5? I�m Wondering: How Julie Chen manages to look so serious and not cringe with embarrassment when explaining this season�s gimmick, over and over and over.

A Year Ago, I Said:

That�s funny. I thought I was writing a fairly coherent journal entry, and then I look up to discover that I�ve been writing about having sex with my own pants.
Good Pants Won�t Ruin Your Life, and Other Important Lessons
7-9-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: And Then There Were None

my next adventure: The Travelling Show

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news