� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� And Then There Were None �
4:05 p.m., 2004-07-08

I am regrettably forced to wonder if I ought to be gleaning some sort of message from the rapid employee turnover rate here at Arts-Friendly. Whether there is some kind of warning being communicated to me in a Morse code of dots and dashes as represented by the intermittent periods between one person�s leaving and the next. If there indeed is a message, it is punctuated rather emphatically by the lousy return rate on our dwindling staff.

I bring this up because in two weeks� time, we will be one more member short. Corinne, of whom I�ve spoken before, tendered her resignation the other day, and although I can�t say I didn�t see it coming (I mean, I could say I didn�t see it coming, but it would be a total lie), it doesn�t make coping with it any easier. Not that Corinne didn�t come with her own little warning label ("I can�t read your damn lips, Corinne, just write it the fuck out!"), but I�m quaking in my shoes when I think ahead to a future in this office without her.

I mean, let�s just take a little stock, shall we? So far, since the first of the year, we�ve lost Patrice, Elaine, Sam, New New Girl (who may or may not count), and Minnie. Neither Elaine nor Minnie have been replaced in any way (unless you count the fact that a great number of their duties were assumed unto me [by which I mean that Sophie just assumed I would start taking care of them with a great big smile on my face] after their departure), and although Sam has actually been replaced twice, I still perform half of the tasks once in her purview.

Corinne is the last stronghold of authoritarian efficacy that I can turn to in my time of What The Hell Now? She is one of the only remaining staff members around here that knows more than I do about how to run things, who understands the limits of what I can and should be expected to do, and what questions are too trivial to be brought to my attention or too vital for me to be the one making the call. Will her replacement know the same? What training will her replacement undergo before taking the mantle? Will she have a replacement? (And I�m here to tell you she damn well better have a fucking replacement, or I will go apeshit and bring this entire building down with my bare fucking hands.)

Also, and this is a far less important point, but Corinne totally gossiped to me about everything, you guys! I learn all kinds of dirt about Sophie that I would never know otherwise, thanks to Corinne�s need for commiseration. (Accent on the �miseration�, because y�all? Corinne hates it here.) I�m the only person at the company (aside from Sophie, of course, and Corinne�s man-at-arms, Victor) who even knows she�ll be gone soon, and I�ve been sworn to secrecy. I�m in the In Crowd, you guys! And in two weeks? I�ll be the In Crowd.

Anyway, despite the fact that I only understand half of the gossip she likes to fill me in on ("The Pope�s garter is�infected? JUST TALK OUT LOUD, DAMMIT!"), I�m still going to miss having her around.

Oh well. At least I�ll still have her responsibilities to keep me company.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "james lipton" I�m Watching: Reno 911!. And: More Blow Out, and I�m sort of thinking that a lot of them should Blow it Out their asses, with the attitude and everything.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: On the Road Again

my next adventure: Misheard it Through the Grapevine

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news