� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Thorns in My Side �
1:27 a.m., 2003-09-26

I came to the realization today that what I ultimately want to do when I grow up is to have a job that requires little or no human interaction. Like, I could photograph old castles or tag geese or something, anything that doesn�t involve dealing with that loathsome human element. To be fair, I come to that same realization about three months after starting any new job, but the fact remains that today was the day it came upon me again.

See, I�m having a bit of a situation at work. Nothing serious, but there are a couple of people over there who might need to get buried alive in cement. First, let�s talk about Sally. Sally isn�t her real name, of course, because on the off chance that she�s reading this and recognizes the situation, she might use her evil powers to turn me to stone. Sally doesn�t actually work in my office, but really in our branch office on the east coast. I�m not terribly fond of Sally.

Let me tell you why. First, let me point out that it was Sally who F�d up that huge project from the other week -- you know, the one where I broke my spine in six places trying to piece things together, and then she totally disregarded all the information I sent over and proceeded to tell everyone who was in charge of anything that I was a big slacker who wasn�t pulling my weight -- and she�s now added Lying Through Her Big Fat Teeth to the already extensive list of reasons she needs to get zapped with a taser.

We were supposed to have this conference with a client on Monday. Sally called me in the afternoon to make sure I had the phone number of said client. I opened my address book and lo, there was a number. I read the number aloud to Sally, asked her if it was the number I needed, and she confirmed. End transmission. That evening, when Sophie called the number, it turned out to be disconnected. This is evidently when Sally went on a tirade to my boss about how she �read the number out to [me] three times to make sure [I] had it right�, and I had obviously managed to fuck something else up, despite all her best efforts to keep me in line.

Okay, so not only is that a total lie, but it�s like, why did she have to go and say it in such a way as to make me look as bad as possible? Wouldn�t the truth have sufficed? We both had the wrong number in our address books. Simple, direct, and at least 70% less accusatory than her version (which, it should be pointed out one more time, was a TOTAL LIE). In the end, the point proved to be moot, as it turned out I did have the right number, but the client had moved without bothering to share her new info with us. So there, Sally; suck on that.

I have made sure that Sophie is entirely aware of my feelings about Sally. I forward along every nasty email I get, and fill Sophie in on each condescending voicemail message Sally leaves to berate me for not doing someone else�s work. I�ve also been quite candid about my feelings towards Jean-zilla, The Client From Hell.

If Sally is frustrating, irritable, and condescending, Jean-zilla is confounding, irrational, and passive-aggressive. Every single issue that comes up (and a lot of them do), she reacts to in exactly the same way; she becomes immediately suspicious and censuring, positive that we�ve all fucked up again, and she�s going to have to fix it like usual. Of course, nine times out of ten it�s something completely benign that turns out (after I go on an all-day wild goose chase at her behest) to not be a fuck-up at all, but rather a communication that mysteriously broke down at her end, though clearly not through any fault of her own.

And honestly, I wouldn�t even mind these extreme reactions of hers if she would just fucking learn from them, but she won�t! Like, after I�ve made the same bad call about three or four times, I usually start to realize that maybe I�m just wrong and need to adjust my attitude. Not so, Jean-zilla. Every day I go in to work, I do so with the knowledge that I will have yet another email in my inbox containing some overblown complaint, and I�ll have to spend the rest of the day tracking down all the evidence that proves we�re not at fault.

Oh well. At least my job is consistent.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: birdcrap on the car And: diane lane on good morning america I�m Watching: Friends and all that shit. I Went and Saw: Underworld tonight, and it was much more entertaining than the craptacular Cold Creek Manor.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Insurance: More Than Meets the Eye

my next adventure: Seriously, Do Not Disturb

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news