� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� In the Loop �
3:48 p.m., 2003-12-05

I must apologize in advance for the hasty, protracted nature of this entry. We had this huge meeting today, see, with those stupid trick-babies in the east coast office who have accused us all of gross incompetence/negligence, or whatever (hee! I accidentally misspelled �incompetence�), the upshot of which was that everyone in our office is suddenly jumping through hoops and walking tightropes, or maybe riding unicycles. And a couple of the ladies are growing beards, but I�m trying to be polite by not commenting about it.

Anyway, I�m slightly less aggravated by all this than I should be, because the fact is that those buffoons finally realized that not everything can be blamed on me, and in truth, most of it cannot. I�m not saying everything�s great, because now, instead of just heaping all the blame on me, they�re now pitchforking it at our overwhelmed, understaffed data entry department. And I don�t want to sound like an asshole, but it turns out that I operate much more smoothly when I�m not being accused. Like, since that meeting, I feel a lot less pressure on me.

In any case, there was a meeting. And it went on. And on. And on. During this interminable intervention, the company president, James, detailed his plans for a future of improved relations, which included things like getting the daily reports out on a daily basis, and making sure the information is accurate, like, ooh, I think I get it now! Thanks for the hot tips, boss. But, hey, could you explain that �daily� thing again?

I also got to listen to Anna extrapolate forever on the concept of "closing the loop", like a doctoral student defending her dissertation, until I wanted to "close the loop" real tightly, right around her neck. I mean, I�m not opposed to closing the loop, per se, but when I�m hearing all this from a woman who totally ignored a simple request I sent five days earlier and has yet to even acknowledge it, I get a little bit irked.

Right now I�m doing all this extra crap to help out the beleaguered data entry team. The work is not terribly difficult, and I am more or less happy to do it (okay�less), but it is also very time consuming, and it leaves me precious little space (read: none) to get my own work done. The trade-off, of course, being that soon, data entry shall be completely up to date, and all my shit will be stacked up to the rafters and waiting to pounce on me as soon as I let my guard down. Like a ninja.

Also, I don�t know what I�m doing. So I�m probably screwing it all up, which will put me squarely back in the Blame column, which I only recently escaped.

Man. "The Loop" is one unforgiving mistress.

Someone Get Here By Searching For: who wrote "just another manic monday?" And: Jude Law-Vanity Fair I�m Watching: Tru Calling. Um�Why? I can�t even say. Honest.

A Year Ago, I Said:

"See, this woman I work for has this sleek little Miata, and today? Today, she let me drive it. And it wasn't like, "Hey, would you move my car out from under that tree?" either. Well, okay, actually it was, but that's not the point."
Our Hero Needs to Get a Life
12-7-2002

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: F�r Ihren H�renden Genu�

my next adventure: Train of Thought

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news