� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� A Taxing Ordeal �
12:07 p.m., 2003-04-15

And it�s that time of year once again. You know which time I mean, gentle reader. It�s Tax Day.

Last year on Tax Day, I was pinned down and forcibly violated by the government (metaphorically speaking, of course) and I was rather looking forward to this year�s tax experience, figuring it could only go better and would cleanse my palate of the foul tax-y aftertaste from April 15, 2002. I was wrong, as it turned out.

Here�s the background -- remember when I told you about that job I had at Heartless Insurance, Ltd.? Well, the thing about my job with Heartless Insurance, Ltd. is this: somehow, I screwed up my tax forms. When I was filling them out, I somehow neglected the little box you�re supposed to write in to indicate just how much money you want the federal government to withhold from your paychecks each period. Thanks to that one tiny clerical error, I ended up owing a disgusting amount in income tax last year.

This was insulting, given that I was a freshly minted temp at the time, working for peanuts and fun size Snickers bars. Actually, at this time last year my take-home was the highest it�s ever been in my (relatively short) professional life, but it was still laughable, and that�s not the point. What was truly insulting was the fact that a large portion my job at Heartless Insurance, Ltd. involved going over tax forms with new employees and explaining how to complete them properly. Whoops.

So anyway, I�m sitting there in my tiny studio apartment in Chicago, and the Oscars� were about to come on (you�ll recall they were postponed last year), and I�m staring at my computer screen and laughing because, obviously, I�d screwed something up. I mean, Come on! I�ve never owed money to the government before!

Minutes later, as reality set in like a bad case of bronchitis, the laughter abruptly stopped. In fact, just about everything abruptly stopped because I could no longer afford my own electricity. I spent the next twenty minutes panicking and trying to figure out just how much money I could get if I sold my clothes or my, y�know, body on the street, until my parents (bless them) promised to help me out.

So I swore I would never again be so stupid when it came to my taxes and such, and henceforth examined every form with a wary eye, carefully filling in each box as indicated. I did very well, too, considering that in the last year I had six separate sources of income and on only one of those forms did I forget to mark the right box. I should be more ashamed, but I only worked one day through that agency, so I was taxed about $2 on my earnings.

So last night I sat down to do my taxes for the year of 2002 with a pretty good feeling. I knew I�d been careful, and I was quite happy about it. That�s when I grabbed my stack of W-2s and remembered that I had still been on the Heartless Insurance, Ltd. payroll for the first quarter of 2002. I was only actually working there for nine days of 2002, but my severance pay continued well throughout the quarter. So I finished my taxes, and once again, I owe the government money. Granted, it�s significantly less than last year, but I�m on my own this time, and it�s a lot more than I can afford, given how little I make now.

I�m also a little ticked off about giving the government money right now, considering that they�re trying to pass a law that will prohibit me from having sex ever. I�d take comfort in knowing that a portion of my taxes will go to supporting the arts, but, well�HA HA HA! That�ll be the day.

Also, I totally forgot to attach all my W-2s to my tax forms, so I have to drive all the way back home at lunch to get them. It�s going to take my whole lunch hour just to get that done, which is a real kick in the ass. But it�s my own fault, I guess. And now you�re wondering why I waited so damn long to take care of my taxes, and I actually have a really great excuse: one of the places I worked last year sent my W-2 form to my parents, and they decided to just bring it when they came to visit, rather than mail it.

So as you can see, I have perfectly valid reasons for my failings in the area of tax completion. Do you think the government will accept this as an excuse letter? Maybe if I get my mommy to sign it. Sigh.

Today�s Quiz: What Kind of Hair Should You Have?

Punk hair
Punk hair

What kinda hair should you have?
brought to you by Quizilla

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Mom? Dad? I'm G...oing to the Bathroom.

my next adventure: This Time It's Personal

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news