� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Mom? Dad? I'm G...oing to the Bathroom. �
1:18 p.m., 2003-04-14

I�d been planning it for months. I mean, literally months. The words themselves I�d been planning on saying �at some point� ever since my junior year in high school. It wasn�t until early February that I sort of decided the time was finally at hand for me to utter that life-altering phrase, �Mom? Dad? I�m gay.�

I�m 25 years old, and I�m sick of lying. It sounds clich�, I know, but eventually it just hits a point where hiding a rather large part of Who You Really Are from your own parents becomes a weight just too great to bear. I�m not saying that I lie awake every night, gnashing my teeth and loathing myself, but it dampens every happiness I feel. Every time I�m on a date and things are going wonderfully, in the back of my head is this little voice saying, �Too bad you can�t tell mom and dad about him.�

My sister didn�t have this problem when she met her husband. My brother didn�t have this problem when he met his girlfriend. They just told my parents in a casual manner, �Oh, by the way, I�m dating someone.� I can�t do that, and it hurts inside. In college, I fell in what I believed was love. For six months I was miserable, and I cried because I couldn�t be honest about it, and it terrified me whenever I considered the fact that if I did end up deciding to spend my life with a guy, I�d be forced to come clean about it. Forgive me, but shouldn�t love be something beautiful? Shouldn�t it make you happy?

I�m 25, and I�m sick of breaking out in a cold sweat whenever my parents ask me if I�m seeing anyone, or worse, why I�m not seeing anyone. My heart drops like a comet when my mother tells me she wishes I could meet someone, get married, and have children. She tells me, �I�m not trying to pressure you, I just want you to be happy, you know?� So do I. How do explain to her she may never get grandchildren from me? How do I tell her she may never get to come to my wedding, because it�s against the law in almost every state in this supposedly free country of ours?

Hell, I have a hard time explaining that part to myself. I desperately want children of my own, but it simply may never happen. And I know this one is stupid, but my father is the only son in a family of six children. My little brother and myself are the only ones left to carry on the family name, and, well�it�s not looking like I�m a viable candidate anymore. And I know this situation isn�t particular to gay men -- there are many women who never meet anyone, or for other reasons are unable to bear children -- but that doesn�t make it any easier. I can�t be artificially inseminated, and even if I do meet someone, children aren�t really in the offing.

I guess that�s all neither here nor there. The point was that I decided I was going to tell them and at least have the deception out of the way for good. I chose this past weekend to do it, because it�s not something to be said over the phone, and my parents were (conveniently?) coming out to L.A. to visit me.

On Saturday, we took a walk together on the beach. I burned to a cinder, but it was worth it. I love spending time with them (and there were a shitload of hot boys in various states of undress down there), and I kept thinking to myself how pretty soon, I wouldn�t have to pretend that I didn�t notice the cute guy in the board shorts who kept smiling at me. I was nervous, but I felt okay about it.

And then came dinner. We had martinis, we had wine, and we sat down at dinner and started talking. All of a sudden, I had the same feeling I always get before I get on a roller coaster; my heart started pounding, my hands started to shake, my mouth went dry, and my legs liquified underneath me. I couldn�t concentrate and I could barely understand what they were saying. There was no moment at which the timing was perfect, no appropriate segue (�speaking of gay children, that�s what you have!�), and no opportunity, it seemed, for me to ease it into the conversation. So I decided to just blurt it out.

The words were on the tip of my tongue, and I opened my mouth to say them�and for a split second, I thought I was going to throw up all over the table. I was a complete wreck. I couldn�t sit there for another minute, so I excused myself, ran to the bathroom, hunched over the toilet, and cried. In that moment, I knew that I wasn�t ready for the truth to come out (so to speak). I simply couldn�t tell them. So I returned to the table, feeling empty.

I love my parents and I had a wonderful time with them, but I couldn�t wait for them to go home so I could stop feeling so deceitful and so sick to my stomach. What if we ran into someone I used to date? What if we bumped into someone I met at a gay bar? What if my mother found that copy of Rolling Stone I saved, simply because the cover was a really hot picture of Johnny Depp?

I�m sick of what-ifs, but I just couldn�t do anything about it. Consequently, I was in a foul mood and I ended up taking it out on some people who didn�t deserve it, for which I�ve since apologized. Still, I�m kind of at a loss here. I�ll have another shot at it when my parents come back in August, but will I be ready then? Or will I run and hide a second time? Only time will tell, I suppose.

I�m sick of time.

Today�s Quiz: What Kind of Gay Stereotype Are You?

You are not gay. Just evil.
Not Gay!

What Kind of Gay Stereotype are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Problem solved! Although, is this trying to say that if you�re not gay you�re Jennifer Love Hewitt? What is that supposed to mean?

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: The All-Nighter Syndrome

my next adventure: A Taxing Ordeal

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news