� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Snooze and Lose �
10:58 p.m., 2003-10-09

This morning started like any other: I woke up, irritated by the constant beeping in my ear, and I reached over and reset my alarm clock so I could get another fifteen minutes of blissful sleep. My eyes opened for the second time an hour later when May Day knocked on my door, inquiring as to whether or not I was going to work today.

Whoops.

So I jumped out of bed and proceeded to go through a routine I perfected in middle school, wherein I completely freak out and lose the ability to perform even the most basic of morning preparatory tasks. I realize I�m completely betraying the cool, unflappable image I present to the world, but the fact is that I generally end up running around my bedroom in circles, alternately picking up and abandoning various tasks as the next one suddenly seems more important. Like, �Gotta put on pants! No, wait! Shirt! Gotta put on a shirt! Oops, I�ll need a belt, too! Wait, need pants before belt! Not these pants! Shit, where are my good pants?? Oh, screw the good pants, I don�t have time for good pants!�

So my T-shirt pants get plenty of use. Although that�s still better than the time in the fourth grade when I went to use the bathroom and discovered that I�d somehow managed to put my clothes on over my pajamas without noticing. Actually, I�ve been very good about getting to work on time lately (only twice in the last year have I been more than a few minutes late -- not counting, of course, those mornings when I was locked out of Stupid Titanic Cruises), which only made me freak out more. In the end, Sophie was cool with it, so I guess all�s well that ends well.

Actually, I think I may have even scored some serious brownie points at the office, and made myself seem a little less dispensable. Basically, I toadied up to Sophie a little bit, did some extraneous work, and actually contributed a little to the afternoon meeting. Usually I just doodle and try to remember all the words to �Smooth Criminal� until someone asks me a question, and I have to pretend like I just didn�t hear them because I was contemplating something else entirely germane to what we were just speaking about. I don�t do such a good job of this.

But anyway, despite my tardiness, Sophie certainly can�t accuse me of not being dedicated! Well, not appearing dedicated, anyway. I even cut my lunch hour short so I could make up the time I missed! Granted that was all about the money and nothing else -- and it�s a good thing, too, because I got my latest credit card bill today�that�s all I�m going to say about that -- but Sophie definitely noticed my super good work ethic. Unfortunately, she probably now has Expectations.

I hate it when my plans backfire.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: am i descended from vikings? [Like I�d know the answer to that.] And: is jennifer garner having a baby [Oh shit, is she??] I�m Watching: Must-See TV, although I have to admit I hate it when promos try to tell me what must see. Blow it out your ass, promos. I�m Craving: Chocolate-dipped bananas, thanks to yesterday�s episode of 30 Minute Meals With Rachael Ray.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Delivered From Temptation...?

my next adventure: Picket Whine

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news