� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Slackluster �
12:35 p.m., 2005-10-31

It seems to me that the convergence of Halloween and a Monday should lead to some seriously wicked supernatural hijinks. I mean, already it seems that the cruel hands of fate like to reach out and wring one�s neck on the first of the five workdays. Although truthfully I can�t really complain too much. On this fine Monday I find myself sitting at my desk with absolutely nothing to do but fuck around online. No new tapes have been prepared as yet, and since I finished all my shit on Friday, I have to just sit around and wait. Some people feel conflicted about stuff like this � many a time I have heard people say stuff like, �Oh, I sometimes check my email or something, but if I�m not working, I feel guilty.� I? Don�t.

I�m not ashamed and I�m not going to hide it anymore! If I�m at work and they don�t give me anything to do? Awesome. Awesome! I�m getting PAID to sit on my ASS. The best job I ever had was a temp assignment in Chicago, where they paid me $14/hr and I just sat my computer, messing around. Once a day, but not even always that often, someone might come up to me and ask me to send out an email or to transcribe some notes�which was REALLY annoying�but mostly I just dicked around, and it was fantastic. I had that job for six weeks. Six weeks I got paid $14/hr to live a life of leisure! Well, relative leisure. I mean, I couldn�t read a book or whatever, or they�d have noticed I wasn�t working and would have figured out that maybe they didn�t really need my �services�, but still.

In any event, my philosophy is and always has been that they�re paying me and not the other way around, you know? If they want to pay me and don�t have anything to give me, I�m down with that. I don�t feel �guilt� or �responsibility� or �shame�! Well, I might feel �afraid of losing my job or not getting paid on account of not providing any actual services, despite that not really being my fault�, but then there�s nothing I can do about that, right? I can�t MAKE tapes appear, y�all.

It�s a different story if there�s work to be done and I�m not doing it. Then I kind of suck, and I acknowledge that. And although I certainly do find the time to update my journal (well, sometimes I do) and check my email and whatnot, I really do keep my nose pretty close to the grindstone when there�s work to be done. All I�m really saying here is that I�m not sorry when there isn�t work to be done. Sometimes they let you go early, too, and who hates that? Not me.

Another thing I can�t do is make another costume appear. See, all the private Halloween celebrations happened on Saturday, but the great big annual Halloween Carnival in West Hollywood is tonight (duh), and Ulrich really wants to go. He also plans to wear a costume, which leaves me in dire need of dredging one up. Last year I went to the Carnival on a last-minute basis and decided to be �Dennis the Menace Grows up Goth�, which was really fun, although no one got it. I don�t want to repeat anything, but I don�t have that much �costume-y� stuff kicking around. I wasn�t prepared for this, you guys! I suppose I could poke my head through a bag and go as Kirsten Dunst.

I suppose I have plenty of time to think about it, though, what with not really having anything to do. Of course, the worst part is that by the time they do have the tapes ready, I�ll be so firmly settled into my routine of Not Doing Anything, that it�ll be twice as hard to get anything done. Thanks goodness it�s almost lunchtime!

Someone Got Here By Searching For: Lately I�ve been getting a lot of traffic from unfortunate people who are directed here while doing image searches. Lately, someone got here while looking up pictures of �sorority fuck�. Nice. I�m Watching: Passions, despite the fact that my interest in about 90% of the storylines is waning. I�m Reading: White Hot by Sandra Brown, still, and actually making some pretty serious headway.

A Year Ago, I Said:

First off, everyone promise me that you either have or will vote today. I�m serious. You know what happens to people who don�t vote? They die. I�m sure I�m not telling you anything you don�t already know. I mean, we�ve all seen those ads. You all know that if you don�t go punch some chads today, P. Diddy will hunt you down and kill you. How he�ll find out, I�m not entirely clear, but there isn�t a lot of creative interpretation in the catchphrase �Vote or Die!�

Vote of Confidence
11-2-2004

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: A Pain in the Glasses

my next adventure: The Calm Before the Tempest

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news