� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Buyer's Remorse is for Wimps �
11:37 a.m., 2003-12-09

A strange feeling suffuses me, tingling through every nerve in my body. It is a sense of something being absent, or more accurately, a sense of some goal not being achieved; a psychological imperative not being fulfilled. My subconscious strives for happiness, but what it wants, I�m not giving it. Perhaps I am being too monkish, depriving myself of what it is I want most. Or perhaps I�m just being smart, since what I want would be ultimately destructive.

You see, gentle reader, what I want most? Is to shop. Well, I guess I shouldn�t say most. What I want most is financial security, a rewarding personal and professional life, and a passionate, ongoing relationship with Guy Pearce, just like everybody else. But just for the sake of immediate gratification (because if you can�t have it right away, how is it at all gratifying?) my soul wants to continue Christmas shopping.

I�m not saying there aren�t a few DVDs and a killer suede jacket from J. Crew that would also put a smile on its metaphysical countenance (provided it even has one -- I�m not a Catholic, so I never learned about that stuff), but at present I�m not looking to glut myself on personal gain. (That, of course, is for after the Holidays.) Having spent the last four months buying gifts for Christmas and various birthdays, I suddenly feel a void when I realize that I�m all done now. And it feels�awkward.

Of course, I really, really can�t afford to do any more shopping, which I knew would happen and which is why I started back in September, but now I�ve got the itch. This happens to a lot of people, or so I�m told, and it�s not terribly difficult to see why. First of all, once you get past the initial shock of spending so damn much money, you start to get Shopper�s Euphoria. Everyone loves to accumulate, heaven knows, and not only are you accumulating at an exponential rate, but you�re not even doing it for you, so there�s no guilt factor!

On a far more selfless note, I think everyone loves to give a gift to a loved one that they know will be cherished. Some of us, of course, suffer from Gift Panic -- that horrible feeling that your present will be welcomed with a forced, "Oh�neat," and that you�ll have to hide your face in shame at family gatherings for years to come -- but, well, the benefits far outweigh the possible drawbacks. And besides, there are already plenty of other reasons to hide one�s face in shame at family gatherings.

In any case, I have completed my shopping, and should be enjoying the fact that there is no more pressure on me to accomplish it all at the last minute. Instead, it would seem, I have become a shopping junkie, suffering withdrawal. Do you think they have clinics for this sort of thing?

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "and I call your name", "my girl" lyrics And: wardress uniform I�m Watching: Mr. Holland�s Opus, for the first time. Two thumbs up, incidentally. I�m Also Watching: Jumpin� Jack Flash, for the umpteenth time. Also two thumbs up, even though it�s not really what one would call a "good" movie.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Train of Thought

my next adventure: All Stressed Out and No Place to Go

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news