� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Thirteen Conversations About One Thing �
11:40 p.m., 2003-07-08

Disclaimer -- If you are faint of heart, weak of stomach, or easily offended, I suggest in all kindness and sincerity that you skip this entry and come back tomorrow.

Kelly: What are those kids poking at? Is that some kind of creature?

Me: I can�t tell�it could be a Horseshoe Crab or, um�or�

May Day: HEY! WHAT IS THAT THING?

Teenage Girl: I think it�s a FUCKING LEG!

* * *

Me: So, we had lunch at this seafood place, and then we went to the beach, and you�ll never believe what we saw!

KillerWorkout: What?

Me: A leg!

KillerWorkout: A what?

Me: A leg! You know, on the beach.

KillerWorkout: �what?

Me: Well, I mean, not the whole leg�just the part from the hip to the knee.

KillerWorkout: WHAT?

Me: It was really grody, too. All old and leathery and tendony and bone-protusiony�

KillerWorkout: Okay, wait, wait�what?

Me: Yeah, and these two teenagers were poking it with a stick. Oh, hey, does your memory work again?

KillerWorkout: Unfortunately.

* * *

Natalie: You mean, like, a human leg?

Me: Oh yeah. I mean, Kelly kept trying to convince us it was a whale part, but whales don�t have, you know�femurs.

Natalie: Did it smell bad?

Me: Um, yeah. It smelled like a rotting leg.

* * *

Lauren: Yeah, Jessica and I read May Day�s journal and we couldn�t believe it!

Me: It was pretty unbelievable.

Lauren: I think I would�ve thrown up.

Me: I think if it had been more recognizable as a human leg, I probably would�ve tossed my cookies, too.

Lauren: What did it look like?

Me: All old and leathery. Kind of like a Horseshoe Crab. Or George Hamilton.

Lauren: Someone should check his legs.

* * *

Mark: Maybe it was a shark attack.

Me: Maybe.

Mark: Did you tell anyone about it?

Me: Oh sure -- I called my brother right away, and then I told my friend Natalie, and�

Mark: I meant like the authorities.

Me: Oh. Yeah, those teenagers called the cops.

Mark: Did they show up?

Me: Fuck if I know. I mean, I don�t want to sound like a snob or anything, but I don�t hang out at beaches where they find body parts.

* * *

Mom: Where was the rest of him?

Me: I don�t know.

Mom: Did he get eaten by a shark?

Me: I don�t know.

Mom: Have they found any other parts?

Me: I don�t know!

Mom: What do you know?

Me: Well�legs sure are gross when they�re not attached to someone.

Mom: Thank you.

* * *

China: Did you have nightmares?

Me: Um, no, not really.

China: I would�ve had nightmares.

Tony: I can�t believe you went down to look closer.

Me: That was my roommate�s idea.

China: I can�t believe you didn�t have nightmares.

Me: Well, it helped that it was so weathered it didn�t look exactly real. I mean, if it had been a fresh leg, I wouldn�t be here right now; I�d be in a straight-jacket, eating strained peas off a foot-long spoon being held by a big, burly male nurse with a syringe full of Halidol.

China: I think I�m going to have nightmares.

* * *

Linda: Hee hee! Oh no. I just laughed! I think I�m going to Hell.

Me: But, see, that�s just it! It�s so absurd and grotesque, you just have to laugh!

Linda: Or else you�re going to cry and vomit.

Me: Precisely. And I mean, really, it isn�t funny at all. This was a person�s leg, you know? Someone who died horribly, one way or another. And if you think about it, it�s like that wasn�t bad enough that now, for a final indignity, some teenage girl is going to poke at your remains with a stick and invite other people over for a second opinion.

Linda: Well, I�m thinking that by the time your withered leg-piece is discovered, you�re well above being offended by stuff like that.

Me: Like, �Hey! That�s my damn leg! I�m going to haunt you for that!�

Linda: Hee! Oh, shit.

* * *

Me: So what did you do for the Fourth, Patrice?

Patrice: Oh, you know, nothing big. Went to a pool party, and that�s about it. You?

Me: We went to the beach, and then we had a barbecue and watched fireworks, and then the next day we ate lunch with a bunch of bikers and found a disembodied human leg on the beach.

Patrice: Oh, that�s nice.

* * *

Me: Leg-scuse me, Linda, but I kneed your help with something.

Linda: Hee! Stop it!

Me: Why? Whose thigh-ed are you on, anyway?

Linda: Hee hee! Stop, damn you!

Me: Heh.

Linda: I don�t leg you anymore.

* * *

T-Boz: Puppy, I don�t want you living out there! You shouldn�t be living in places where they find legs on the beach!

Me: But this was practically in Malibu!

T-Boz: Ohmygaw, was it a famous leg??

Me: Wh�how the hell should I know?

T-Boz: Did it look familiar? Or �femur�-liar? Hee hee! I made a joke about fermlers! Femulures. Farmimimum-mulam�s.

Me: �are you drunk?

T-Boz: Wooooo!

* * *

KillerWorkout: I still can�t believe you found a leg on the beach.

Me: Well, technically speaking, we didn�t find it, those teenagers did. We just looked at it.

KillerWorkout: Whatever. Was it totally gross?

Me: It was a severed leg, what do you think? It was all flat and blackened and rotty and nasty, and there was hair all stuck to it!

KillerWorkout: �sounds lovely.

Me: Please -- the fish I had for lunch was grosser than the leg.

* * *

Me: Wait, did I already tell you about the leg?

Lauren: Yes.

Me: What did we say?

Lauren: Me and Jessica had read May Day�s journal, so you just added some stuff about George Hamilton.

Me: Oh. Did I mention how it was all decayed and bone-protrusiony?

Lauren: Yes.

Me: Oh. Did I tell you about how this woman I work with likes to chew her hair?

Lauren: Oh, gross, now I�m going to be sick!

* * *

I�d just like to add here that although I�ve made light of the situation, I don�t honestly think finding human remains is funny. As I mentioned to Linda, this is ultimately about a very real tragedy. And whether this person died by misadventure or, heaven forbid, at the hand of another human being, there is nothing comedic about death -- in this particular instance, or any other. However, as I also mentioned to Linda, I need to process this with as much humor as I can, or I really will end up with nightmares.

Today�s Quiz: What�s Your Sexual Fetish?

bondage
bondage

What's YOUR sexual fetish?
brought to you by Quizilla

Someone Got Here By Searching For: Lara Flynn Boyle Collagen Lips And: evil t1000 I�m Watching: Probably a nice romantic comedy. You know, to cleanse the palate. I�m Eating: Strangely? Not very hungry right now.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: The Secret To Cold Fusion. Okay, Not.

my next adventure: Good Pants Won't Ruin Your Life, and Other Important Lessons

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news