� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� The Silence of the Lamb Shank �
10:50 a.m., 2004-04-08

I was watching my arch-nemesis yesterday, as I am wont to do, and after a half-hour of giggling and cutesy-ing her way through a pasta/salad combo platter, she finally ceded control of the airwaves to her far more sophisticated lead-out, Martha Stewart. I only watched the first few minutes of Martha�s program, but I feel that�s all I really needed. I mean, as one who doesn�t grow organic bok choy in a handmade window box filled with imported Argentine soil, I don�t feel that her show is really geared towards me.

So I should mention that the Food Network is preparing us for the Easter Holiday in their usual tradition: by trotting out every recipe in their great big food Rolodex that could be considered even remotely Easter-adjacent, and painting it up like a filthy whore with Holiday tidings. Like, just because it�s in the springtime, they think anything made out of leafy greens is an apropos meal. Nice try, Food Network, but �stuffed cabbage� doesn�t exactly scream Easter to me.

Anyway, stuffed cabbage is not the only longstanding Easter mascot. Everybody knows that colorful eggs are synonymous with the Easter tradition, and you can�t walk into a single chain supermarket anywhere in the country during the early weeks of April without tripping over a twee cardboard stand, swathed in pastels and decorated with images of frolicking baby lambs, chicks, ducklings, and bunnies. Aren�t those things just cute enough to make you shit? Sweeter than a pound of spun sugar, those Easter displays. Kinda makes you want to put on a great big ceremonial voodoo mask and scare the living crap out of some children, doesn�t it?

In any case, if any one specific animal is the true mascot of the Easter season, it would really have to be the lamb, wouldn�t it? I mean, the whole point is that the lamb represents Jesus, because He�s the Lamb of God, and Easter is a time of rebirth and cute animals and chocolate-covered marshmallows and whatever else Hallmark and Hershey have collaborated on this year. But at the end of the day, it�s all rubber duckies and cute little lambs, you know? That�s why, immediately after Rachael Ray finished forcing me to contemplate ending it all by jabbing a barbecue fork into my solar plexus, I nearly died anyway when From Martha�s Kitchen came on and the soothing voice of the announcer announced, soothingly, that Martha would be preparing a rack of lamb for an Easter feast.

Now I�m not going to pretend like I�m the most pious person out there, and I really don�t know a whole lot about Easter, but that just seems so totally wrong, doesn�t it? It�s like serving hamburgers at a Ganesh Festival in India. I mean, life is full of sick little ironies, but having Martha Stewart roasting a lamb for Easter tickles that perverse spot just behind my funny bone that�s bound to end up in Hell�s Hall of Fame after I die.

Not that I�m giggling in a sacrilegious way, mind you -- it�s more of a�well�I think I�m going to Hell.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "how to ruin someone" [A worthy pursuit.] And: thirteen + film + spoiler + "eating disorder" I�m Watching: The Bachelor. He�s hot, yo! And: The Swan, because sick little ironies are in.

A Year Ago, I Said:

J.Lo as Ingrid Bergman? Why don�t they just shoot me in the head?
My Cheatin� Hearts
4-8-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Alone Again, Naturally

my next adventure: Half a Nice Day!

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news