� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� What the Hell is Wrong With You People? (Part 3) �
11:50 a.m., 2004-04-22

I have, up to this point, maintained a stance of detached indifference in regard to many of the reality shows that used to consume me and tie my brain into knots. Along with the fact that I�ve been finding their current incarnations to be greatly boring (in a "you are feeling sleepy, sleeeeeepy" kind of way), I have also been determined to act blas� about them and not let them become my Moby Dick, as they did last season.

I�m sorry, but I can remain silent no longer.

Last night, Jennifer Hudson was booted off American Idol. For those of you who haven�t been following along this season, first of all, I commend you. But indulge me for a moment in a brief history of the show to date. Twelve people, at least eight of whom seemed to suck rocks for a living -- a habit they carried over into their performances, which also sucked rocks -- and four (or so) pretty accomplished performers, prone to the usual ebb and flow of talent that characterizes your typical AI contestant, were voted into the finals.

Jennifer Hudson was one of the more talented contestants, with the ebb and the flow and the whatnot. Less consistent, perhaps, than some of her fellow Talented Performers, but even when she ebbed, she flowed a damn sight better than the teenage squad of half-baked, under-ripe, in-over-their-heads, musical wannabes (are you listening, Carmen Rasmusen??) that make up the other major party of contenders.

Well, last night, my brain was once again blown inside-out by the stuperifery of the masses when the three most talented singers ended up in the bottom tier! Meanwhile, on the other side of the soundstage, three teenage, half-baked, under-ripe, in-over-their-heads, musical wannabes gaped in (rightful) surprise. Among them was John Stevens. John. Stevens. America�you voted for John Stevens.

Now he seems like a very nice kid, but he has about as much personality as a stop sign. And sure, he does fine with his Dean Martin-y lounge act, whenever he�s able to employ it properly (like on country music night -- I concede his obvious accomplishment there), but remember when he tried to unleash the Dino on Motown? Remember how well that turned out? I�m not saying he�s the next Dread Carmen or anything, because despite the (apparently mutual) lack of enthusiasm John and I seem to share about his singing, I would still rather listen to him than wrestle an alligator, or poke myself repeatedly with a hot skewer.

Anyway, it completely boggled the mind. The mind was further boggled by the goings-on over on ABC, with The Bachelor. Can I ask who the hell decided to make Jesse Palmer the Bachelor? Not that he isn�t attractive, in a very pro football kind of way, but I don�t think he�s really taking the whole �quest for a mate� theme very seriously. Maybe �quest for mating�, but that�s about as much as I�m willing to concede, based on his choices.

First of all, he kicked off his best friend, who was there solely to help him make informed decisions about the girls. Not that it made a big difference, since he was pretty much just ignoring her advice anyway. I mean he picked Trish! For those of you not watching (again, good for you), Trish is a big ho. Her ho-ness is almost as big as her ego, as a matter of fact. Anyway, I can�t imagine that Trish is the kind of person anyone would date seriously, since she would never date anyone seriously herself, and is neither very adept at, nor particularly interested in, hiding her shallow intentions.

But I think I�ve probably wasted enough breath on the topic. I did pretty good there, for a while, with the not talking about reality TV, though, didn�t I? Lasted for a few weeks. Granted I did pretty much nothing but yap about my job during that time, but some people appreciate consistency, you know?

Anyway, I�d rather be predictable than a big ho.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: sloane "time travel" alias And: avril lavigne hair I�m Watching: Well, the obvious. And: The O.C. -- am I high, or were a couple of things this week not All About Marissa?

A Year Ago, I Said:

And then a group sing featuring all six of the producers� favorite AI contestants (Carmen, Carmen, Josh, Clay, Josh, and Carmen), and then it was all over, and no one gets to vote. So basically, they subjected us to a good three minutes of The Dread Carmen Rasmusen hooting and hollering her way through one of my favorite Diana Ross tunes (natch -- but at least she didn�t do Blondie again, right?) with no avenue of recourse through which to exact our revenge.
They Call This Reality?
4-22-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Single File

my next adventure: You Got Your Guar Gum in My Chocolate!

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news