� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Single File �
11:49 a.m., 2004-04-21

I hate to say it, but things do not look good for our hero.

I have somehow found myself painted into a corner, metaphorically speaking, and I�m not sure there�s any easy escape. The only way out, as far as I can see, involves copious amounts of work, which would in turn involve copious amounts of time, which frankly I�ve not got. Also, it�s so cold in my office right now, I feel like I�m dying.

Okay, that last sentence had naught to do with the situation at hand, but it was observation that bore�observation. Anyway, in a masterstroke, I seem to have accidentally taken the paperwork for two separate, ongoing records and filed them together. This doesn�t sound so bad on the face of it, but you have to realize that we generate paperwork for both of these files every single day, and have done so since October. Somehow, I managed to merge these two data streams together, and they are now locked in a double helix that stretches about six months long.

Now if I�m to be completely honest (which I don�t think I will), I realized my error several months ago. It was an easy mistake to make at first -- and a case could be made that the fault is not entirely mine, since the records were originally marked identically. No distinction was made between the two files, and as my involvement with them extended only so far as the filing cabinet itself, I had no reason to know or believe there should be any such separation, let alone to enforce it. But that changed within a couple months, and instead of going back to fix it right away�I shrugged it off.

I don�t know why. There really wouldn�t have been any sense in going back through the old files to sort them out, since they were, as I mentioned, marked alike�but I could have just as easily begun a second system then and there to separate the two. And I didn�t. And now, going back to sort them out would be a pain in the ass the same way Godzilla was a pain in the ass to Tokyo.

At first, it all actually seemed a trifle amusing. I mean, when I first noticed the error, I would giggle a bit to myself as I filed the papers (incorrectly). I would think, "Ho ho! Isn�t this rich? Oh well!" I guess I figured I had that safety net, since the data had all been mixed up to begin with. Slowly, the giggle became a restrained snicker, which in turn became a nervous titter, and just today it became a fretful sigh as I realized that eventually the gaffe will be uncovered and purposeful ignorance exposed.

So what do I do now? I mean, it has yet to be asked of me to locate any of the paperwork from either file -- and even if it were, it�s all filed chronologically, so it wouldn�t be difficult to find anyway, so there might not even be a problem at all! Not that�s a particularly good attitude to take. Theoretically, I suppose I could go back and begin the arduous and lengthy process of separating all the paperwork and refiling it. But I could also theoretically become a Franciscan monk, or run off and shack up with Adam Brody (though probably not both). Even if I did decide to go back and fix it all, when would I ever find the time? It�s no longer a project that could be completed in an hour or two, and with my increased responsibilities, it�s even more complicated.

I guess I really don�t have much of a choice, do I? Starting next week (because I�m really in no great hurry) I�ll begin a very secret and surreptitious mission to convert the one file into two, slowly, a little bit each day, until the job is finished. Or until Adam Brody calls me. I mean, the one�s about as likely as the other.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: PISSED OF GORILLA And: "tj maxx jingle" I�m Watching: 24. They had me�and then they lost me. And then they had me again! And then they lost me again. And then? I think they had me. I�m Reading: The Windsor Knot, by Sharyn McCrumb. I finally moved on to a new book! Go me!

A Year Ago, I Said:

So I did something really, really smart last week. I threw out my wallet. Like, in the trash. While it was full. Of, you know�my stuff. Hey, don�t look at me like that, it was an honest mistake!
Boys Just Wanna Have Funds
4-21-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Zombie Cowboy

my next adventure: What the Hell is Wrong With You People? (Part 3)

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news