� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Global Recognition �
2:38 a.m., 2005-01-19

So, did you guys watch the Golden Globes on Sunday night? Yeah, me neither.

Actually, that�s not entirely true; I did watch for about an hour and a half, but...was it just me, or was it just about the most boring ceremony ever? Well, okay, after my high school graduation, which took about four hours and was punctuated by a bunch of overly dramatic testimonials from students who were gonna rilly, rilly miss high school, you guys, because it was 2 cool 2 be 4gotten!!! Like, who really needs to hear Mary Lou Cupcake read her original work, �Ode to My School�, anyway?

But I�m off track. For those of you that tuned in, however, did you notice that they seemed to have done away with the time restrictions for the winners? How quickly did you all go from, �Oh, yay, s/he won!� to, �Oh my gosh, s/he won�t shut up! Sit down and let somebody else win for a second!� For me, I think it was usually the moment right after the first, �I know I�m forgetting to thank somebody important,� because that always means they�re probably about to just list everybody they�ve ever met, knowing that �somebody important� will be on there, somewhere. I tune in to see pretty rich people in ugly clothes, not to hear you individually thank everybody at the production company that had anything to do with your project. Thank your mom and sit back down � the rest of those folks will all be at your stupid after-party, and you can thank them later.

The one thing I really do appreciate about the Golden Globes, I guess, is the way that they make a point of recognizing the new shows that aren�t necessarily on HBO. I�m not saying there�s anything wrong with HBO, but...sit down, Edie Falco, and let somebody else win for a minute. I was happy that Lost got nominated, and even though I�m not quite swept away by Desperate Housewives, it was nice that all of them got nominated, too. Well, all of them except �the little one that eats a lot.� (Quoth Teri Hatcher, during her acceptance speech.) And now that Sex and the City is off the air, we can all breathe a little easier, knowing that Sarah Jessica Parker won�t be able to keep building that giant, killer robot.

In an unrelated story, you�ll remember that I�ve been having some minor difficulties relating to my car? What with the seat malfunctioning and the earwax and all? Well, they took an odd turn just recently. Not long before the rains finally stopped, I began to notice my car had picked up a peculiar odor. An odor which got progressively worse every single day. I mean, it wasn�t bad like evil shoes bad, but a close second. I mean, my car smelled like a haunted house. People thought I had a dead hooker in the trunk.

As it turned out, an entire colony of mildew had taken up residence in my floor mat, which, while unpleasant, was still nicer than a haunting, or a corpse. Just out of curiosity, is it a �colony� of mildew? I really have no idea. Anyway, I had to drag the mat out of the car and leave it in the sun for a couple days to kill all the little microbes, but I think it was worth it. The car smells like car again, rather than gangrene.

Also, for those of you keeping track of such things, my new running shoes are actually working out okay. They�re a lot heavier than my old shoes, as it turns out, which has presented a few problems, and they�re all shiny and new, so I tend to watch my feet now, rather than where I�m running, which has presented a few additional problems, but otherwise, they�re working out great! Thanks for asking.

And now, if you�ll pardon me, bed calleth my name.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: heimlich maneuver placards I�m Watching: 24. Don�t go in there, Jack�oh, never mind. And: Y tu Mam� Tambi�n. I�m not sure I really get it, beyond all the sex stuff, of course, but it was still a pretty entertaining movie.

A Year Ago, I Said:

It�s okay though, because she did put out a tray of chocolates for me. Well, us, I guess. Stupid sharing.

I�m Gettin� Hired in the Morning
1-16-2004

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Fight the Future

my next adventure: Analyze This

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news