� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� A Full Court French Press �
12:28 a.m., 2003-10-01

Wow. So I wrote up a whole entry about the Cute Receptionist, who has of late been sending me so many mixed signals that I�m seriously going to have to bring in a CIA analyst to work on cracking the code, but I just don�t quite feel comfortable with the end result.

In brief, he has demonstrated that he is physically attracted to me, but I am not his type -- and to be fair, the reverse is also true (I�m attracted to him, but he is not my type) -- but he still seems quite committed to trying to maintain my interest in him for some purpose known to him alone. Perhaps he�s still considering the possibility of dating me if our current status as Co-Workers was to change, or maybe he�s just reluctant to let me stop pursuing him, out of some need to fan the flames of his self-esteem. (Which is ironic, because the quickest way to turn me off is to try and make me chase after you. I don�t �chase�. I want to be with someone who wants to be with me back, end of story.) Either way, I�m tired of Cat and Mouse, and I would like to play an adult game now.

Just not Gin Rummy, because I suck at Gin Rummy.

Let�s talk about my brand new thermos! I bought a brand new thermos this weekend from The Coffee Bean (which I believe I mentioned in passing before), and it�s all shiny and new and really cool. Given that my addiction to coffee has recently blossomed back into a full-fledged codependence, I like to think of this thermos as a wedding gift from me to my bride, Espresso. Or what have you. I�m not terribly picky.

I�d like to lay the blame squarely where it belongs for this backslide into the depraved world of caffeine highs and delightful, full-flavored aromas. The office, as I believe I�ve also mentioned, has a working coffee pot. And believe me, it earns its keep. Unfortunately, it has been earning its keep much at my own expense, both figuratively and literally. See, I have been the one providing the means by which the rest of the office has fed its jones for the sweet Colombian bean.

By that, I don�t just mean that I�m the one making the coffee every single morning (although I am), but that I�m the one actually buying the damn stuff. I don�t mind contributing once in a while, mind you, but when I�m using my hard-earned money, which is really quite limited in quantity, to buy coffee that disappears at the alarming rate of 12 cups a day, it eventually amounts to a greater debt than I�m willing to incur in the name of my addiction. Actually, that�s not entirely true. If I am to be honest, I should amend that to say �in the name of everyone else�s addiction�. Buy your own damn coffee, y�all.

So anyway, I decided to stop being the enabler for my entire office, and stopped buying the coffee. I went out and bought this high-tech, all-business thermos, and a whole bunch of delicious coffee with all the trimmings, and I thought that for once I�d gotten the upper hand. I�d show those ungrateful poopheads! I�d come in with a thermos full of hot, delectable java, and they�d just sit there, feeling sorry for themselves because no one was buying and making them coffee all day every day. And you know what happened?

Someone else bought and made some coffee. I really know how to make a point, don�t I?

Someone Got Here By Searching For: uncle traveling matt And: kirstie alley pier one I�m Watching: Nick at Nite. Oh, whatever, you watch it too, sometimes. I�m Going to Work Early Tomorrow Beacuse: I�m an idiot. I don�t want to talk about it.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Seriously, Do Not Disturb

my next adventure: A Few Minor Accomplishments

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news