� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Reality Check 2: Tuesday's All-American �
10:42 a.m., 2004-03-24

The most important thing y�all should know about today is that Yoanna was declared America�s Next Top Model. Tony in Data Entry and I have been having a very polarizing feud about who would ascend to this particular throne, and it feels really good to be vindicated in the end, to have the model I championed win the coveted title. In a lot of ways, it almost feels like I actually did something, or contributed to her victory in any way. Which I, you know, didn�t. But I get to rub it in Tony�s face anyway, because he was WRONG. Thank you, Tyra Banks, for giving me the power of the Gloat.

I also watched the first half of American Idol last night, but I�m just not feeling the love anymore. There are no contestants that have me enraptured by talent and/or personality (as did Kelly Clarkson), and there are none that have me trapped irrevocably in their evil thrall, the way Dracula enslaved Renfield, as did The Dread Carmen Rasmusen. Seriously, I still don�t get why that girl received any votes at all for anything. Was America on drugs? I�m not kidding; do you guys have a problem we need to talk about? I know the evil has been defeated, but�the foul after-effects still linger in my memory.

Anyway, I know AI is enjoying its highest ratings in recorded history -- a fact they won�t let us forget, and which they like to tout as though it were a moral victory for the American public to be involved in such a feat -- but I can�t help feeling like the show is on a decline. I think Entertainment Weekly really nailed it when they pointed out that despite all the effusive raving by the judges that this is "the best top twelve ever" (a rather empty observation, this being only the third season [and only the second top "twelve" at that]), so much is exactly the same as it always was that we might as well be watching reruns. And these kids make you wonder if �charisma� is on the endangered species list.

Oh crap. I just called a bunch of (mostly) twenty-somethings "kids". This is not good. I�m still a twenty-something! My something is just a little higher than theirs, that�s all.

Quick side note: that meeting from yesterday with Sally? Didn�t happen. She never got back to me to confirm, or to give me the necessary contact numbers. Of course she tried to blame me once again, because I think that�s what they�re trained to do in the east coast office ("Don�t worry if you screw it up, there are plenty of people on the west coast to take the fall for you. Just make sure you Cc: them on one or two emails so you can claim they knew about it and should have known to take care of it, despite its having been your responsibility from the get-go."), but Sophie went immediately to the mat on my behalf, so I�m pretty much covered. Go, Sophie, go!

In any case, now that America�s Next Top Model is over, AI has less competition as far as being The Reality Show Worth Watching On Tuesdays. And now that AI is finally being shaved back down to its regular running time of one bloated hour, it will be far more manageable. Perhaps not much more enjoyable, but at least they�ll have less time to insult my intelligence.

Like my intelligence needs any more insulting after what I�m doing to it by continuing to watch. Sigh.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: capucine monastery And: BANG A GONG "IRON CHEF" I�m Watching: Significant Others, which continues to amuse, heartily. I�m Eating: Out of a four-pound tub of peanut butter. Quality and quantity meet with a resounding "Mmm�"

A Year Ago, I Said:

So we all just kind of stare at him for a second, and he�s like, "Are you enjoying your evening?" And we all mumble back something in the vein of, "Yeah�uh-huh�sure are�and you?" And he�s all, "Oh, I�m doing fine. Would you guys all like to be my very own personal guests at the premiere party for Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, because you�re all the coolest people I�ve ever met�" and then he got cut off by a bunch of screaming fanboys who hurried over to prostitute themselves to Gimli from LotR, and poor John Rhys-Davies never got to finish before he was whisked away by security.
Seeing Stars
3-24-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: All the Small Things

my next adventure: \"No Pie, No Gain\"

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news