� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� All the Small Things �
10:52 a.m., 2004-03-23

I�m sitting in here on a Tuesday morning, sipping my coffee and doing my best to ignore everything that could possibly stress me out. It�s a really difficult challenge for a spazz like me, but I�m determined to try. I believe that I often let the little things rile me to a point just this side of health and mental stability, and I�m dedicated to conquering that.

Take for example the other day when I cursed Sam�s name loudly and enthusiastically, with (hopefully) no one around to hear me, when my stapler ran out. See, she used to have this obnoxious -- no, excuse me, I�m sorry, what I meant to say was "vexing" -- she had this "vexing" habit of, whenever she came into my office, picking up my stapler and randomly jettisoning the tiny metal clips one by one into the trash. I have no idea why, or what sort of fulfillment that action could possibly have brought her, or why she didn�t do it with her own fucking shit but just mine so that I ran out of staples in the middle of fastening a whole stack of reports together on Friday, and ended up shaking my fist in the air and raging against the closed door of what was once her office in a blind madness over the fact that if she hadn�t persisted with that asinine practice, I�d still have enough staples left to get through the day!

But I�m trying to let stuff like that go, because it really isn�t very important. I mean, really. It�s not even like I have to pay for the staples myself! I do have to walk all the way downstairs into the back corner of the storage room to dig a whole new brick of staples out of the supply cabinet and then walk them all the way back upstairs to reload and clip together THREE reports, like, thanks a shitload for pointlessly tossing those three staples into garbage for no reason at all! But that�s not really such a big deal. The twisted irony, of course, is that there are several larger and more significant issues at hand that are far more mentally and emotionally taxing at the moment, and yet this is what I choose to get worked up about.

Of course, it�s easier to have a conniption over something small and inconsequential. It�s safer to allow yourself to vent aggression and frustration over something that ultimately doesn�t even matter. Like these forms I keep getting from employees here who fill them out all wrong, or spell things wrong, or forget to put their own stupid name on the sheet, or, like this one lady, don�t quite get what e-mail is, or how e-mail addresses are supposed to work. Just a tip: "aunt rosa cool dot com" IS NOT A VALID E-MAIL ADDRESS!!!

And then there�s this meeting I�ve got to facilitate this afternoon, that is meant to include Sally from the east coast office. Last time I had any involvement with this particular meeting was months ago when Sam first started here (she used to run them) and I had to provide the client�s phone number. Which I got directly from Sally. Of course, the number turned out to be disconnected, and Sally immediately blamed me (in my absence), telling Sophie that she "made [me] read the number back to [her] three times" to make sure I had it right (bullshit), and just generally smeared shit all over my good name and unnecessarily tried to make me look bad.

In the end, it turned out the number was right, but the client had moved and not told Sally her new phone number. So, basically, Sally never confirmed the number before she gave it to me, it turned out to be wrong, and she blamed me for it.

Do you blame me for spazzing?

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "citizen aim" And: nebraska + sex tape I�m Watching: Las Vegas. So that�s where Cheryl Ladd went! I�m Listening To: Zanna, Don�t!, which was Pussy Galore�s birthday gift to me, and is absolutely hysterical.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Donna Martin Graduates!

my next adventure: Reality Check 2: Tuesday's All-American

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news