� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� A Cast of Thousands �
12:29 p.m., 2003-03-25

First of all, the fact that this office is so filthy dirty that there are ants actually crawling inside my keyboard, is possibly the most revolting thing, ever. I mean, I understand that due to climate and location and blah blah and blah, a certain number of insects in your territory is more or less inevitable, but there is a line of fire ants doing the flamenco on the rim of my drinking glass, people! This isn�t okay!

Also not okay? Stupid-ass people on the phone. I had a really exciting conversation earlier this morning, which I have dutifully transcribed for you, here:

Me: Titanic Cruises, how may I direct your call?

Willfully Ignorant Buffoon: Is Miss Allison Gentry there?

Me: I�m afraid no one by that name works here.

WIB: Is this Washington Mutual?

Me: �no, this is Titanic Cruises.

WIB: Did I dial 55�uh�5�

Me: I have no idea -- several numbers come into this switchboard and I have no idea which�

WIB: 55176855�

Me: I don�t know! I have no way of knowing what you dialed!

WIB: Is this the bank?

Me: What? Yes. Yes, this is the First National Bank of Titanic Cruises, you colossal fuck! Pay attention!

And then he hung up. How rude.

Anyway, you know who needs a clue? David E. Kelly. Like, what�s going on with his shows? Well, �show�, technically. Now that Ally McBeal is floating face down in the shark tank of television history, The Practice is really the only thing he�s got out there. Thankfully.

And there�s like 17 regular cast members on The Practice now! When did that happen? I haven�t actually watched the show in two years, because it just started to get all stupid and repeat-y all the time, but I tuned in last night and saw all these new people running around. DEK is still unable to give his established cast weekly screentime -- I mean, every episode is about two or three of the lawyers, and the other twelve of them are nowhere to be seen -- and yet he throws in a bunch of newbies? What�s up with that?

Not that the runaway cast is a new problem for David E. Kelly. Remember Ally McBeal? After five years, I think that Richard Roundtree and Marjoe Gortner were the only two living people that never made an appearance on the show, either as regulars or guest stars. I mean, it started with an outrageous number of regulars, but every season they added more and more and more! Eventually, Ally McBeal was like a freaking Cecil B. DeMille production, with 49 lead actors and a supporting cast of thousands. They probably had to shoot it in an airplane hangar or the Silverdome or something, just to fit everyone in. �It�s Ally McBeal! Starring Callista Flockhart! Lisa Nicole Carson! Greg Germann! Jamie Lee Curtis! Fran Drescher! Jose Ferrer! Bonita Money! Carole Lombard! Sally Struthers! Madonna! Rip Torn! Susannah York! Meredith Baxter-Birney! Corey Haim! Peter Falk! The Green Bay Packers! Nelson Mandela! Mama Celeste!� And so forth.

The nice thing about it is that it was an automatic icebreaker. I mean, if you met someone new and couldn�t think of anything to talk about, you could just ask, �So�which episode of Ally were you on?� Of course, the answer would inevitably be, �You know�the one where she was all neurotic and needed a man.�

And, having seen last night�s The Practice, I feel I must ask this question: what the hell happened to Lara Flynn Boyle? Remember when she used to be really striking and attractive in a sort of menacing way? I mean she always had that kind of mysterious and slightly dangerous ice princess appeal that, you know, all those chicks from Twin Peaks had. Now, she�s got bangs like a soccer mom from Branson, Missouri, and these huge wax lips! I mean, this collagen thing has got to stop. I enjoy full lips as much as the next guy, but only if they�re natural. Implants throw off your whole facial equilibrium, you know? Those lips aren�t bee-stung, they were systematically attacked by a squadron of Portuguese Man-o-War Jellyfish.

And I�m quite excited about tonight�s all-new Buffy, although I must also sadly point out that Runaway Cast Syndrome has also afflicted them. Oh well. Between Buffy and 24, I believe I�m in for a very exciting evening. Hooray!

Today�s Quiz: Which Character From 24 Are You?

HASH(0x83a9218)
Teri

24 Characters
brought to you by Quizilla

Hey, sweet! I loved Teri! Sniffle.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Seeing Stars

my next adventure: Ask the Blair Witch Some More

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news