� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Jesus Would've Wished You a Happy Hanukkah �
5:44 p.m., 2005-12-07

Oh my gosh, I am so glad I have you guys to talk to! I love me some unemployment, but it�s starting to get a little Donner Party in here, all me by myself with my TV (which I refuse to turn on�well, except for Passions�until it gets dark out, because I don�t want to waste my entire day doing nothing but watching because I�ve seen what that can do to a person, and in fact was that person lo these many moons ago when I was unemployed in Chicago and saw every episode of Remington Steele, Profiler, The X-Files, and Cooking Live With Sara Moulton ever filmed, all in the space of TWO MONTHS), and it�s nice to have the distraction.

I realize that I had previously sort of indicated/promised that I would write about the rest of my Thanksgiving weekend, which, like you even care. I�m not slamming you guys, either�I mean, why would you? Anyway, to sum it up in brief, my parents had a grande soiree and I made a cheesecake (that turned out really well) and I got a good buzz on (and that turned out really well, too) and then I came back to Los Angeles.

More exciting things have happened since then, such as, along with my fellow trivia teammates, being the target of a rather indecorous and unprovoked display of bad and bawdy manners by one Mr. Jason Patric. Yes, he of Speed 2. You may read all about it here and also here (don't be fooled -- they're the same, word-for-word). All I have to say about the matter is that just because you boned Julia Roberts, second-billed to Sandra Bullock, and on the strength of this can get away with breaking the trivia night rules, this does not excuse you from the boundaries of common decency. There are ways to stand up that don�t involve nearly destroying your neighbor�s table, you should tell your friend, and also? The proper thing to do in that situation is to apologize, not to verbally abuse the people seated at that table. Also, �four eyes�, while being a juvenile and uninspired insult, becomes juvenile, uninspired, and nonsensical when directed at someone WITHOUT GLASSES.

Anyway. Christmas approaches us quickly and determinedly, and I am happy to say I�m done shopping! Of course, this is a lie, but it still makes me happy to say it. I thought I was done�quite done�by the middle of last month. And then I discovered that my list of people to buy for had another side. I am currently bankrupting myself in the name of holiday joy, and am beginning to understand why St. Nick moved up to the North Pole, where he could get away with unregulated non-union labor and avoid having to pay outrageous store prices for things that barely cost a fraction of that to actually assemble. Technically I think his gig can be classified as non-profit, but even if he�s not getting rich, you have to admit he�s one killer of a vacation plan in place. The one good thing about my ongoing shopping for the holidays (and surprise birthdays) is that I now have something to do with my unemployed time.

Another thing I�m doing with my free time is becoming disgusted by this current fundie movement to de-secularize all aspects of Christmas, and to put the �cultural whitewashing� back into the holiday season. I love me some Christmas, too, y�all, don�t get me wrong. I love the carols and the decorations and the festivity and illusion that people are happy with their lives, just as much as the next guy, but I also come from an interfaith family, and fuck YOU very much, Don Wildmon, for objecting to �happy holidays� simply because it actually allows enough latitude for (gasp!) Jews and others to perhaps feel acknowledged by our supposedly integrated, civilized society. And I recognize that this �holiday tree� business is asinine, because that would be like calling the menorah a �holiday candelabra�, and it is something so religion-specific that you can�t de-Christian it. However, �happy holidays� is NOT �offensive� and furthermore, most of those �happy holidays� signs are all in red and green anyway, so it�s generally a half-assed attempt at cultural sensitivity at best, and that ought to shut your dirty trap and keep it that way while I try to enjoy a little seasonal cheer, you butthole.

And now I�m done. With the invective, at least. I�ve still got more shopping to do. Hope y�all are keeping warm!

Someone Got Here By Searching For: how to comb my hair like Ryan Reynolds I�m Watching: The Spiral Staircase, which was really good, although Domino and I were pretty buzzed on champagne, so it may have affected my feelings on the film. I�m Reading: Byzantium From Antiquity to the Renaissance by Thomas F. Mathews. Look how educated I am!

A Year Ago, I Said:

Also, don�t you give me dirty looks just because I�m leaning out of my open window and screaming profanities at you because you�re STOPPED AT A GREEN LIGHT

These Are the Things I Can Do Without
12-7-2004

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Say it With Turkey

my next adventure: Food/Critic

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news