� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� A Weighty Issue, Part II: Metabolism's Revenge �
11:07 a.m., 2004-01-07

I�m a little perturbed. I started this Healthy Diet thing a while back, as my faithful readers will know, in an effort not to lose weight but to gain life expectancy and (optimistically) muscle mass. I tried to increase my proteins and cut back on junk carbs like sugar and white flour. I still eat whole grain breads and oatmeal and shit, but I try to avoid pasta and stuff.

And then rather than getting all buff and shit due to all the protein and exercise, I instead lost about five pounds. Well, great, I guess. I mean, I didn�t really think I had a whole five pounds to lose, but I figured it was baby fat covering what (admittedly little) muscle I already had. I�ve got one of those bodies where I�m going to look like I�m about 15 until I die, but at least I looked like a well-toned high school sophomore.

Naturally, the holidays tossed a wrench into the diet machinery, and I ate pretty crappy. I counted it something of a victory that I pretty much maintained my weight during that time. I have to take a brief moment to bitch, here, and bear with me, about the fact that people (read: me) are using weight to determine health. Like, what the fuck ever about weight. Who gives a shit what the scale says, as long as you look good, feel good, and, most importantly, are taking care of your inner plumbing (cholesterol is the real enemy, folks).

Anyway, whatever. The point is that I�ve been monitoring my weight due to the fact that, regardless of whether or not you feel okay, it�s entirely possible to lose too much. Which brings me to my point. I just went downstairs to get something, and Tony said to me, "Have you lost weight? You look like you�ve lost weight." And so I hopped on the scale and found that yes, I seem to have shed another two pounds between my trip back to LA (Sunday) and today (Wednesday). Somewhere over the course of the last two days, I misplaced two pounds.

How?! From where?! I mean, I�m not in Scary Lara Flynn Boyle territory, or anything, but this is alarming to me. On the plus side, it means I do get to go out and eat an entire bag of chips at lunch, something I�ve been steadfastly avoiding, but even that doesn�t quite fill me with glee. I shouldn�t have to eat junk food to maintain my weight, y�all. It kind of completely defeats me in my attempt to be healthy and muscle-y.

Heh. Just watch and the scale was calibrated incorrectly. I�m probably fine.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: insulting hand signals And: "PEE SO BAD" [I�m telling you.] I�m Watching: 24. Chase is such a drama queen. Hit him again. I�m Eating: Doritos! Woohoo!

A Year Ago, I Said:

Me: Yeah! No, and then they had this huge note in the credits saying that Ms. Withers was on loan or something from the studio she was actually contracted to. Hitch had to go down to someone's office and say, "I'd like to use Googie Withers. I need Googie in my film. Googie, Googie, Googie!"

Becky: I doubt he said that last part.

A Missive to an Old Friend
1-7-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Zoning Out

my next adventure: You Gotta Have Friends(ter)

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news