� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Drowning In the Stream Of Consciousness �
12:37 a.m., 2003-08-14

Okay. I don�t really have anything to talk about in particular, so I�m just going to free associate and see where it gets me.

So I watched Boy Meets Boy again tonight, and damned if I�m not even more smitten with Wes than before, although I�m now about 98% sure he�s straight. Apparently, if the insufferable host Dani Behr is to be believed (and not kicked in the teeth, as I believe James�s best friend Andra would prefer she be), there�s only one straight guy left, and since I�ve got a crush on Wes, it�s obviously him.

I won�t say I wasn�t shocked when Dan was revealed to be straight, since I wasn�t really hot for him, but Wes is exactly the kind of modern straight boy -- all in touch with his feelings and comfortable around gay men -- that sends me over the moon, and leaves me all confused and indignant later on. I�m hoping against hope that the remaining straight guy is Darren, because there�s something real �it puts the lotion on its skin!� about that one and I�d be fine with him leaving, but I�m not putting money on it. Too bad, too, because Wes and James would make a good couple. Which I believe I also mentioned to Lauren when I called her during all the commercial breaks. Hi, Lauren!

In other news, I�ve decided that the Cute Receptionist is not attracted to me at all, and that I completely misread his intentions. This may or may not be the case, but it�s much less confusing than trying to actually analyze his erratic behavior. Really, it�s quite liberating, although I have to also confess that I catch myself thinking, �Now that I�m not trying to get his attention, I�m going to totally relax and be myself and then he�s going to see how cool I am and he�s going to be totally hot for me!� Like, why do I want me to suffer like that? What did I ever do to me?

Oh well. Ordinarily, I�d be all, �Well, screw him! I�m on the market!� but�dude, I haven�t been near the market in months. I hope I can even remember how to get there. Damn market.

So, how are you guys? I feel like we never talk anymore. All I ever do is work and pretend to work when my boss is standing nearby but not actually looking right at me. I had this huge project that I had to take care of today (and yesterday and tomorrow). That wasn�t very fun. Plus I�ve got this client in Texas who�s been avoiding my calls for the last four weeks, so when I called him this morning, I totally didn�t expect him to pick up. Imagine my surprise when he did. I couldn�t exactly say, �Oh! Um�hi! I�m totally not prepared to talk to you�unless, you know, all you want me to say is �Hi, Bob, this is Dr. No over at Arts-Friendly Non-Profit! I was calling to go over your weekly numbers, but I guess we�ll talk later! Bye!��

I�ve come to the conclusion that business is a lot like dating in that as long as you can manage to look cute and act charming and/or self-effacing, people will feel compelled to overlook other obvious flaws, such as being completely unprepared for phone meetings, like with clients in Texas, just for example.

The other thing about dating is this: there are two kinds of people. There are those who end up in serious relationships by chance, and those who seek them out. I guess technically there�s the third kind, which are people who had the map upside down the whole time and are now hopelessly lost in enemy territory and trying desperately to spot so much as a dating landmark to orient themselves, but then when they do spot the dating landmark, he turns out to be dating someone else who�s younger than you, and then he asks you out for lunch, like what the hell, and then it turns out that maybe he didn�t mean anything by it, and now you�re all confused! Or maybe that�s just me.

Hmm�

Someone Got Here By Searching For: I�m a homewrecker And: anorexic people I�m Watching: The Alligator People, still. I�m Going To Be: All alone for the rest of the week, because May Day is going out of town. Have a safe trip, May Day!

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Filene's Debasement

my next adventure: And the Winner Is...Not You.

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news