� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� The Call �
10:22 a.m., 2003-11-14

I don�t quite understand it, but lately? I�ve been getting a lot of phone calls at work. I mean, a lot. And I don�t mean from clients, either. Hell, I don�t even mean on my work phone. Every single day, I seem to get at least three people calling me on my cell while I�m at work, and it�s starting to kinda freak me out.

I�m not a terribly stable person, I guess. I mean, looking back at my track record as far as these things go, I don�t have the greatest stats in the Department of Cool, Calm, and Collected. My phone starts to vibrate, and immediately I�m all, "Who�s calling me? Why are they calling in the middle of the day? Is this an emergency? Why don�t I recognize this number? Who is this? What if it�s related to business? What if it�s about my car? I can�t answer it right now! I�m in the middle of something! What if it�s really important, and they don�t leave a message for some reason, and then I can�t call them back because even though their number is now logged into my phone, I don�t want to be that guy that calls up random numbers and goes, �who the hell are you and why did you just call me?� and I miss out on something that could have changed my life forever!"

Plus which, it was not so long ago that Sophie totally chewed me out for accidentally bringing my cell phone into a meeting with me. I�d tucked it into my jacket pocket at lunch, and since Sophie likes to keep the room temperature in the office surfing just above Absolute Zero, I forgot to take it off. Needless to say, of course someone called in the middle of the meeting, and even though I had it on vibrate, when the voicemail alert went off, so did Sophie.

I got this whole lecture about how permissive she�d been in the past regarding my cell phone, and how even though she didn�t let anybody else bring their cell phones into meetings, she hadn�t said anything up to now about my habit of doing so. I tried to explain that the only reason I�ve ever brought a phone into a meeting at all was either a forgetful error or because I DON�T HAVE A WATCH, but she wasn�t having any of it.

That�s why it totally unnerves me when my cell phone rings all day every day now! Not a half-hour ago, Sophie was standing in my doorway, going on and on about some huge, top-priority assignment she needed me to attend to ASAP, and the whole time my cell phone was vibrating in my hand underneath the desk, and rivulets of cold sweat started rolling off my brow as I prayed fervently that she would finish what she was saying and make it far enough down the hallway that she was out of earshot before the voicemail alert kicked in. I still haven�t heard that message yet.

Also, to compound matters, I�ve been so busy lately that I still have stuff backed up on my desk from the week I was out, Sophie keeps handing me new tasks every few minutes or so, and I have nine new e-mails in my inbox, all of them sent within the last twelve minutes, and all of them from the same person (Anna from our east coast office, who, for some reason, can�t not email me sixteen times a day).

It�s going to be a long afternoon.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: Shut The Fuck Up Arnold Schwarzenegger And: kentucky fried chicken head chiefs I�m Watching: Tru Calling, and although Eliza Dushku is going to be my wife and we�re going to have lots of babies�I don�t think we�ll speak of this show, much. I�m Reading: E-mails. Lots and lots of e-mails. Thanks, Anna.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: The Best Little Pie House in Texas

my next adventure: Just Another Manic Monday

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news