� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Technical Difficulties �
12:54 p.m., 2004-10-08

It is my own personal opinion that Dell Technical Support couldn�t support a pair of boobs if it were a WonderBra made of cement with three-inch thick, steel-reinforced copper underwire. I say this based on three or so hours of personal experience talking to some guy who had no idea what the hell was going on. To wit:

Me: Okay, it�s giving me an A:> prompt. What should I do now?

Tech Guy: �

Me: Hello?

Tech Guy: Okay, sir? What does it say?

Me: �it�s giving me an A:> prompt.

Tech Guy: Okay, does it say �A�?

Me: Um. Yes. It�s giving me an A:> prompt.

Tech Guy: Okay, so it says �A�?

Me: �decidedly.

Tech Guy: All right, I need you to type in �format c:�.

Me: That didn�t work. It says �bad command or file name�.

Tech Guy: Okay, what does it say now?

Me: �it says �bad command or file name�.

Tech Guy: Sir?

Me: Yes?

Tech Guy: Did you type in �format c:�?

Me: Yes. Twice, in fact.

Tech Guy: And did that work?

Me: What? No! Are you serious with this? It says �bad command or file name�!

Tech Guy: �what does it say now?

Me: Is there an adult I can speak with? Are your parents home?

Tech Guy: Okay�I�m going to have to�verify something�can I put you on hold?
It is also my personal opinion that �verify something� really means �ask my supervisor what to do next, because frankly, I have no fucking clue�. One would think that, in order to become a Tech Guy, one would need more working knowledge of the product than, �Well, that one button says �on�, so I think that�s probably the power switch. Unless you think it�s in code! Do you think it�s in code?� Because I don�t think �on� is code for anything other than �on�, quite frankly, and isn�t Computer-ese already hard enough to understand as it is?

Anyway, after much ado, I finally managed to get my computer up and running. It turns out that there was indeed a virus spreading somewhere within its memory bank, but it was eradicated with I napalmed the hard drive and reinstalled everything. Of course, then I was asked to provide various product codes, which modern programs won�t work without, due to rampant software piracy -- which I�m not necessarily opposed to on an ethical level, except in such cases where those of us who didn�t have the foresight to preserve their product code keys in a safe place for four years on the off-chance their hard drives would melt down at an unspecified future date would thereby be forced to make another hour-long phone call to Satan�s Little Helper at the Technical Support center. End computer piracy! It�s a huge pain in my ass!

Anyway, it would seem that everything is pretty much in working order, now. I say that with a big fat knock on wood, too, because the last thing I need is to curse myself forever via blind optimism. Fortunately, it�s hard to be an optimist when you�re always waiting for the other shoe to drop. Have you ever noticed that optimists always call themselves out as optimists, while pessimists call themselves �cynical� and cynics call themselves �realists�? I think that�s because only we cynics are truly possessed of a firm grasp on The Truth. Of course, now that I�ve called myself a cynic, by my own logic that makes me a pessimist. Shit. I hate being a pessimist -- pessimists suck.

In any case, with a little luck, I�ll be able to do stuff on my computer now without worrying that it might literally start melting in front of me. Fingers crossed, people!

Someone Got Here By Searching For: dirty old ladies I�m Watching: The Apprentice. Is Trump on drugs, people? Seriously. Pamela? Not the most deserving of the axe, y�all. With My Free Time, I�m: Talking to the yahoos at Tech Support. Support, this, yo.

A Year Ago, I Said:

�Okay, my last name is �Holden�. That�s under �H�. No��H�. No, that�s after �A�. No, further after �A�. Like, seven letters after �A�. Here, let me show you�oh, fuck this shit, it�s right here, you myopic son of a bitch! Give me the motherfucking pen!�
In Which Our Hero Throws His Hands Up
10-8-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Lie Down With Dogshit

my next adventure: Ch-Ch-Changes

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news