� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Lie Down With Dogshit �
7:19 p.m., 2004-10-06

This past Saturday, I decided to head down to the park in order to soak up some of this much-touted Southern California sunshine. I don�t know much about the scientific principles involved in weather patterns, but I do happen to know that Los Angeles enjoys a rather unwieldy amount of sunny days, even in autumn, and I decided I might as well take advantage of this meteorological alchemy. Of course, I managed to thwart my own plans with stunning alacrity when I set my towel down right on top of a huge pile of dogshit.

I never do anything half-assed, either, people. Not only did I drape the towel over a massive pyramid of canine fecal matter so enormous it could probably be seen from space, but I also stepped squarely into an adjunct (albeit smaller) pile of the same stuff simultaneously. Being myself, I also managed to completely not notice either gaffe, and promptly lay right down, neatly squashing the mound of doody beneath me. Immediately noticing the rather foul smell, I looked around and wondered wherever it could be coming from. I was also mystified by the presence and persistent attention of a swarm of flies that wouldn�t leave me alone. Finally, after ten minutes of this, deductive reasoning finally pounced upon me, and I stood up, removed my towel, and revealed manhole cover-sized pancake of fertilizer that had once been the dog crap equivalent of Mount Ziggurat.

I also discovered I�d gotten a dime-sized smudge of it on my left leg, which therefore obviously needed to be amputated. After a blood-curdling scream, I gingerly picked my way home, where I burned my towel (well, threw it out, but you get the gist), and spent twenty minutes in the shower with a bar of antibacterial soap, trying to make myself feel clean again. I have not returned to the park since.

I�m seriously hoping that this is not a portent, or an omen of things yet to come in this new chapter of my life. However, I�ve since started to notice a significant number of things not going quite as originally planned, and it�s given me pause. For example, there�s something wrong with my computer (and has been for some time) and despite numerous attempts to fix it on my own, I seem to have only found a series of shortcuts from one dead-end to another.

I�m fairly sure my PC got a virus at some point in recent history, which has subsequently eroded a number of rather important files, thereby crippling its various functions. I bought an antivirus, but as it turns out, the removal and installation programs seem to be among those chiefly afflicted, and now I have a very expensive and useless box of software taking up space next to my laptop. Since I haven�t been saving any of my work to the hard drive, I�m not worried about losing anything important (save for a lot of hard-earned cash), and my sister suggested that I just wipe out the hard drive, reboot, and start all over.

I would love to do this, but of course I keep getting hold of all the tech support people who are apparently still tromping around the customer service center in their paper trainee hats. Like the guy I spoke to for nearly forty-five minutes this afternoon who kept insisting that I set the computer to boot from the CD-drive and then restart it before inserting the necessary disc. He told me to do this twice, and of course it completely didn�t work. When I finally managed to convince him I was right, and got it going properly, he then guided me into a diagnostics test, which I began, only then to be told it would take �around four hours� and that he would �call me back tomorrow� at about the same time. But I should be available for a two-hour window �or so�, just in case.

Great. Fortunately, it�s not like I have a whole lot going on, but I have chores! And errands! And a lot of stuff that needs to be done on the computer! I don�t have time for four-hour diagnostics and pointless tail chasing! Let me just brainwash the machine, load up my new antivirus, and get going, rather than leaving me here to wallow in a metaphorical pile of dogshit.

Anyway, I guess the moral of the story is to keep your antivirus current, or you�ll end up with a crippled hunk of machinery, and dog hepatitis all over your leg. Don�t let it happen to you!

Someone Got Here By Searching For: I kissed another man I�m Watching: Last night I watched Gilmore Girls for the first time and found that it really wasn�t bad. With My Free Time, I�m: Buying a �thank you� gift for my parents, because those two old fogies really deserve it.

A Year Ago, I Said:

I guess I�m surprised because I�ve never thought terribly high of my Difficult Client-wrangling skills, and when you consider that I still honestly don�t feel like I completely know what I�m doing here, handling anyone is a bit of a far-fetched notion. Plus which, even a bomb squad would be frightened when faced with trying to defuse Jean-zilla.
Renovations
10-6-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Go Long, New Girl

my next adventure: Technical Difficulties

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news