� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Taxing My Patience �
11:05 a.m., 2004-03-31

I�m getting kind of a late start in typing up today�s entry. I spent most of the morning in a fit of homicidal pique that very nearly brought me to tears. Ultimately what it brought me to was the realization that I should really just never attempt to do my own taxes ever, ever again. Although I�m very happy to report that I�m getting a refund this year, my pleasure is offset rather greatly by the fact that TurboTax is the devil himself, and last night I apparently entered into a fool�s bargain with him.

I made the (now obvious) mistake of attempting to purchase a software download so I could file my state taxes (which I frankly consider insulting), only to find out that it didn�t work. So they took my money for a product that failed to work, and I got online and went to their Help & Support center -- which I should point out is about as helpful and supportive as a bra made out of greasepaint -- where I found out I had to jump through one flaming hoop after another until I could enter into a "chat" with a "customer service representative". I put these things in quotes, because despite what they told me, I don�t think I was conversing with an actual human being:

SERVICE REP: Hello, Dr. No! How may I be of service to you?

Dr. No: I purchased some software from you guys, but it won�t download. Can I have a refund, or maybe get the software mailed out to me?

SERVICE REP: Dr. No, may I ask what software you are using?

Dr. No: I�ve already used the basic federal tax program, and I need the state tax software. But it won�t download.

SERVICE REP: Dr. No, may I ask if you�ve downloaded the oneclick update for your software?

Dr. No: I haven�t been able to download fuck-all, that�s the whole problem! Can�t I get my money back so I can just buy it in the store? And why do you preface everything with my name, like that? It�s creeping me out.

SERVICE REP: Dr. No, many simple problems can be solved by simply downloading the oneclick update! Just go to the online options and select Download Updates!

Dr. No: I can�t download, you fuckhead! Are you even paying attention?

SERVICE REP: Dr. No, do you have your TurboTax software open? The options heading should be at the top.

Dr. No: Are you on drugs?? I�m not going to waste any more time trying to download shit! Just refund my money or mail the damn software out to me!

SERVICE REP: Dr. No, I�m e-mailing you a link to download the state tax software you requested, but you must use it within 24 hours! Let me know if you have any more questions!

Dr. No: Fuck you very much, you fucking fuckstick. Burn in hell.

So I don�t think I was speaking with an actual human. Well, not a very good one, in any case. So I got back online this morning at the office and wasted another half-hour of my life trying to get some kind of service over there -- you know, just between you and me, they really, really suck. It�s not like they just provide you with a customer service number so you can get help; you have to fill out all these forms, and if you want phone advice it costs another $20, and only after you�ve paid do they give you a contact number. And there�s no email either, just that asinine "chat" thing.

So my computer froze four times as I was trying to get assistance, and I finally called my credit card company and told them the whole situation and they�re going to dispute the charge on my behalf, so it won�t end up costing me anything, and TurboTax can take a great big purge and blow it their ass, because they�re not getting a dime out of me! Ha!

Fuckers.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "gay irish boy" [Hey, I�m looking for that, too!] And: trenyce votes producers I�m Watching: American Idol, a little bit. I watch for a couple seconds, see how badly they�re going to suck, and then change the channel. Exploitation doesn�t amuse me as much anymore. And: 24. You go, Michelle. I�d have shot that guy�s whiny bitch ass myself, and with far less justification.

A Year Ago, I Said:

And Eric Balfour jumped out into the crowd, and he was all sweaty and gross and people were touching him anyway, and I�m sorry -- I may be a crazy fame whore, but that�s just nasty.
A Brush With Fame
3-31-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Ice, Ice, Baby

my next adventure: Break-In 2: Electric Burgle-oo

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news