� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Take This Job and...Well, You Know �
12:41 p.m., 2004-09-09

As I sit here at my desk, time creeping irrecoverably forward, and stare at the paperwork eddying about me, settling in drifts here and there around the office, I find that apathy has gained a toehold on me. And then quickly worked its whole foot in, and begun doing selections from Riverdance all over the "responsibility" sector of my brain. I still feel obligated to get my work done (at least to an extent), but all the rhythmic stomping has driven the air out of a previously held desire to get it done well.

I should begin at the beginning. Or, more to the point, I should begin with Tuesday afternoon when I went into Sophie�s office and handed in my notice, informing her that I planned to work through the end of the month so I could close out the campaigns I�m currently heading-up, but would thereafter immediately be vacating the premises like a rat from the proverbial sinking ship. I guess if I were to employ a more apropos metaphor, I should say, �Like the lead sled dog breaking free and running off into the wilderness, to answer the Call of the Wild�. Of course, The Call of the Wild ended with the dog going insane or freezing to death or something (I can�t exactly recall, but it was a Jack London novel, and all of his books end with insanity and/or death by hypothermia)(either for the characters or the reader), and I�d like to keep hope alive that neither will happen to me, but you get the idea.

Anyway, the process went fairly smoothly -- Sophie told me she figured it was coming sooner or later, and I told her I figured she�d figured -- and then�that was it. No fanfare of trumpets, no unfurling of banners, no choir of angels or similar. Just�the rest of the day, stretching out ahead of me like a really long road to nowhere. I had my momentary, "What the hell did I just do? I quit my job! What was I thinking!?" freakout, but by the end of the day I was back in my comfort zone, knowing that in choosing to leave Arts-Friendly, I�d made the right decision, no matter what comes next.

The decision itself has been percolating in my mind for a few months now, ever since I realized that all the things I�d set out to accomplish were slowly being swallowed whole by a job I�d taken only to pay the bills. For a while, this job really was my sanctuary, and I cherished it for that. In battling depression and hollowness, insecurity and self-doubt, I was able to lose myself in a job that demanded every scrap of me, that inserted itself into my life and swelled to fill every corner. Now that I don�t feel I need it anymore for the escape, I instead feel trapped by the ever-rising tide of responsibilities and the anchor of an abysmal paycheck that hasn�t fluctuated a penny since I started this job as a temp, two-thirds of my current job description ago.

There are things about this job that I will most assuredly miss, though. Not Circe and Sally, of course, but definitely Tony, China, Shirley, and even Carla will hold a place in my heart. I�ll also miss Sophie for the numerous things she taught me, by instruction and example, about confidence and accountability. Thanks to this job, I discovered that the borders I had previously used to demarcate the bounds of my abilities were mismarked. Thanks to Sophie, I was able to take a stand against The Man and my cellular provider, two things I couldn�t do as recently as two years ago. Thanks to Sophie, I�m no longer afraid to say �no� or to put my foot down in defense of myself, and frankly, it is in indirect thanks to her that I had the courage to tell her face to face that I was leaving, without feeling guilty about it.

I have learned many lessons from my time at Arts-Friendly, and all of them I value very highly. That being said, the most important lesson I learned was that this is not the place for me.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: mariah carrie�s feet I�m Watching: The Amazing Race. I know I shouldn�t giggle about how Colin is apparently going to tell Christie that he hates her next week, but the way that he whimpers about it like a little girl just cracks me up. I�m Reading: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, and it�s hilarious.

A Year Ago, I Said:

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I galumph in at 3:00 in the afternoon in my hangover clothes, with my hangover hair, and my hangover face, and my T-shirt pants, and there he is, all tall and gorgeous and broad-shouldery as ever. When I met his gaze, I wished I could crawl into the considerable bags under my eyes and zip them shut.

Weekend Part Two: We�ve Got to Stop Meeting Like This. No, Seriously.
9-9-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Potluck o' the Irish

my next adventure: Shawl We Dance?

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news