� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� The Future's So Bright, I Gotta Buy Shades. Again. �
12:03 a.m., 2003-08-09

I seem to have misplaced my sunglasses. You know�again. And this is what I was talking about before, when I said that I can�t understand people who spend literally hundreds of dollars on sunglasses! I can�t even hold onto my fourteen dollar ones for more than three months at a stretch, I certainly don�t need to be dropping $300 for a pair of glasses by Ralph St. Polio, or whoever the fuck.

Actually, I guess if I�m going to be fair about it, I can�t really say that I �misplaced� my glasses. It�s not entirely as if I just put them somewhere and can�t remember. I believe they are somewhere in the E Terminal of the Detroit Airport (yeah, they�ve been missing for a while). The last time I remember having them was the day I came back from my weekend vacation; I was waiting for my boarding call, and I hooked them on the back of my shirt. Next thing you know, I�m getting off the plane in LA and my shirt is free of any and all UV protective tinted lenses. So, crap.

Now I�m back to the dilapidated pair of backup glasses I�ve had since the time I lost my sunglasses back in Chicago and needed a pair immediately. I bought these at Urban Outfitters, but please don�t interpret that to mean that they�re edgy and cool or anything. Really, they�re just kind of rectangular and squished. The squished part is because I kind of sat on them Sunday night -- like I�m not already in a crisis situation for sunglasses, that I have to make things even worse by sitting on the only pair I�ve got left. Plus they�re chipped and bent, and really pretty uncomfortable. So I�m hard up for eyewear, you guys.

Add to that the fact that I�ve only got about another five weeks left of my contact lenses, and after that? It�s hello glasses. Except that I�ll have to buy all new glasses, because my prescription has changed since the last pair I bought. I suppose I could just get new lenses ground and put in my old frames, but where�s the fun in that? I need to be new and refreshed all over! Give me new glasses, or give me death! Well, okay, not death�how about �give me new glasses, or give me a hickey�? I could deal with that.

Hold on a second -- now I�m thinking about making out with the receptionist�

Okay, I�m back. But seriously, I�m not looking forward to shelling out hundreds of dollars on glasses of any kind, even if they are corrective and I kind of need them to drive or I�ll get arrested. I�m not terribly fond of how I look in glasses. I mean, I could certainly look worse -- and there are days when I�m actually able to pull them off with a certain amount of retro, beatnik panache -- but so much of the time I just look like a socially defunct seventh grade truant, which is a look, but not the one I�m going for. Plus, I can�t really wear frames with the nose pads, because the pressure is really uncomfortable for me, so I have to wear the ones with frames thick enough to do without the pads, so I walk around like Lisa Loeb�s deranged cousin, or something, and everyone just kind of makes little comments about how Buddy Holly I look with my big glasses.

So I can�t say as my eyeballs will miss the intimacy they�ve shared with plastic these last couple of years, once I run out of contacts, but it�s still going to be a hassle. Plus, I�m going to have to buy new sunglasses, and then figure out how to work the old Real Glasses vs. Sunglasses driving situation, and that bites. And don�t even get me started on laser surgery, because the closest I can come to affording that is to get the cashier in the express lane at Ralph�s to price-check my retinas once a week.

I�ll keep you posted on the situation, but in the meantime, if anyone sees Lisa Loeb�s deranged, nerdy, teenage cousin, just wave and say hi.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: Ewan Mcgregor caught making out with nicole kidman at a party And: �if you�re smoking, you�d better be on fire� I�m Watching: The Amazing Race, and I�m so upset the clowns got eliminated! They were cool, yo. My Two Best Friends Are: Ben & Jerry (not necessarily in that order)

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Better Judgment? What 'Better Judgment'?

my next adventure: In Which Karma Bitch-Slaps Our Hero

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news