� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Mommy, Grandma's Scaring Me! �
3:19 p.m., 2003-12-19

Call me sick, but when I saw this headline, I giggled. Don't get me wrong -- it's horrible, and I feel terribly for that poor woman, but...shit.

Anyway, the Holidays are very nearly upon us once again. Of course, I am slightly exaggerating their imminence in my mind, I think, since tomorrow is the day that I leave for my parents�, and thusly the Holiday gauntlet begins this weekend. I say gauntlet, but it�s generally more pleasant than an actual gauntlet, although certain aspects of it from year to year have been known to closely resemble the same.

This year I will actually be going home for two whole weeks, which fills me with both excitement and dread. Excitement, because it means I will be Not Working for two full weeks, and dread, because it means I will be Not Getting Paid for two full weeks. Excitement, because it means I will get to see my family for two full weeks, and dread, because it means I will not be able to escape my family for two full weeks. But I kid; I love my family. Except for when they�re, you know, doing the gauntlet thing.

Anyway, I also wanted to talk about Christmas songs. The lovely and talented Jessica has discussed the current state of Christmas songs, both recently and in the past, and has made some very valid points about how wrong things are getting. I second those motions, of course, but would like here to put forth my own nomination for The Christmas Songs That Are Weirding Me Out, And/Or Do Not Make Sense, Just Generally.

Mine would be "It�s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year". Or "The Most Wonderful Time of the Year", or whatever the heck it�s called. First of all, that title is about three words too long. It�s all about economy of phrasing, Christmas song people, look into it. Secondly, there�s that whole line in there about "there�ll be scary ghost stories and tales blah blah yada etc," what the fuck do "scary ghost stories" have to do with Christmas, I�d like to know? Sure, Grandma may want to talk to you about the Baby Jesus (not my personal grandmother, but maybe yours), but that�s neither scary nor a ghost story. Really. I mean, He came back from the dead and all, but I don�t think it strictly counts, since He was corporeal.

I�m trying to picture Grandma No sitting us down and beginning, "Now, children, I�m going to tell you the story of Hook-Handed Santa! Once upon a time, a couple was necking on Lovers� Lane�" but the image just isn�t coming. Oh, wait, there it is.

So anyway, I�ll be heading homeward tomorrow, for the second time in as many months, for to celebrate the Holidays with my family. I�m looking forward to it, although I�ll never look at Grandma quite the same way again.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "desert flower" "pier one" And: how to make potpurri I�m Watching: Tru Calling, "because" and not "in spite" of its badness. So How Does That Hook-Handed Santa Story End, Anyway? I dunno, you�d have to ask my grandma.

A Year Ago, I Said:

"You stare at your bag of potpurri, wondering when you ever gave the impression that a) your home was in desperate need of odor camouflaging, b) potpurri was a must-have item for a 24 year-old bachelor who (apparently) already has problems projecting a particularly masculine image, and c) that the combination of ginger and melon was really your signature scent."
The Gift That Keeps On Giving
12-19-2002

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: I Smell Zen and Candy

my next adventure: Oh, Christmas Tree

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news