� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Remainders �
3:05 p.m., 2005-08-10

So I rode to work on a swell of some bitterness today, which may or may not have been strictly warranted. Clyde and I were supposed to get together last night for the traditional Awkward Exchange Of Personal Effects And Attempts At Talking, and he backed out. This was, of course, his right, and I understand -- not that my understanding is necessary, but what I�m trying to say is that it isn�t his backing out that has me irked. What has me irked is his attitude about it. He�s determined to hate me for this, and I guess that�s his right, but he hasn�t figured out what his excuse is going to be yet, so he just kind of accuses me of stuff, trying to see what will come close enough to a fit. He says he�s not mad at me -- or rather, he barked he wasn�t mad at me in a really caustic and accusatory tone -- but I�m not buying it. I�m still not comfortable giving all the details, but I ended things because neither of us was fulfilled by the relationship and it was the right move to make. I�m sorry he can�t see that yet, but I get aggravated by his need to make me a villain in order to feel better. I understand it, because I�ve been there, but I�m not happy about it.

My reentry into singlehood hasn�t been quite as bumpy as that one time I totally freaked out and went on a serious downward spiral, or that other time I totally freaked out and went on a totally uncalled-for downward spiral, but it�s taking some getting used to. One thing I began to realize I�d done is make the unforgivable error of allowing my boyfriend to take me away from my other friends. I phrase it that way -- perhaps uncharitably, perhaps not -- due to the fact that it really was at his insistence that I spent the bulk of my time and energy dealing with �Us� rather than on �me�. To a degree, this is of couse logical and healthy (relationships don�t develop and grow unattended, after all), but it reached and surpassed the point where my friends� feelings were hurt by my neglect, and I have some work to do to make it up to them. I�m trying to spend a lot of time with my nearest and dearest now, but I also feel a bit like I�m asking them to suddenly revert back to the way things were, now that I�m single and lonely again, and that�s not fair.

It�s weird having the evenings wide open again. I�m sort of at a loss for what to do with myself, quite frankly. I�ve watched some TV, done some personal errands, and caught up with friends and family, but it�s still odd. I�ve also never really been in this situation before, where the split was primarily my decision, and so the emptiness of my shedule is greeted with mixed emotions. I mean, I still care about Clyde and miss certain aspects of our relationship -- if I could just say he�s an asshole and have done with it, moving on would be a much less doleful experience -- but there�s a certain element of possibility that has been returned to my life, which is exciting.

It�s odd to be coming out of a relationship and not feel devastated, frankly, which sounds kind of perverse. I�m confident that I made the right choice for both of us, for a million reasons I can�t disclose, but there�s still an empty spot right now that is only represented by my rediscovered free time. I�m not ready to move on immediately, because there is still some closure needed, but I really am kind of optimistic about the change.

I allowed myself one �Get Drunk To Get Over It� night, which was last Friday, and came to a discovery unrelated to my relationship woes: my alcohol tolerance has really plummeted. After one and a half martinis, I wasn�t wasted? But I was sooooo sleepy. I came home and made myself some toast and a big glass of water, and then retired to my boudoir. Three hours later, I woke up face down on the floor of my boudoir, with carpet tread all over my torso, a mouth full of crumbs, and a half-eaten piece of toast lying similarly face down on the floor beside me. I remembered being extremely tired, and my eyes sort of sliding open and closed as I�d watched TV and munched on the toast, but I didn�t recall the decision I�d clearly made to turn the television off, or the moments preceding my decision to just sort of drop the toast and go night-night.

This is not to say that there won�t be other nights and other reasons to get drunk and fall asleep half-naked on my bedroom floor, but hopefully I won�t be doing it with a mouthful of toast next time.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: sorority fuck I�m Watching: Clueless, which I have recently remembered is one of the best movies ever made. I�m Reading: Reading? What�s that?

A Year Ago, I Said:

Mom: Nobody said estrogen was a barrel of laughs.

Me: Certainly not yours, anyway.
Woman�s Best Friend
8-10-2004

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Hard to Do

my next adventure: Flirtastrophe

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news