� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Quitting Time �
10:11 a.m., 2004-04-06

It�s day two and I have no idea where the New Girl is. I don�t know, maybe her hours are different than mine, or maybe Sophie�s got her on an unusual schedule while she�s training. It happens. All I know is that, given the turnover rate around here, it�s making me a little uneasy. I mean, seriously. We�re already on our fourth receptionist since I started at this place, and we�ve lost two other people in as many months besides. That just seems a little irresponsible, right?

Did I mention that Elaine is no longer working here? I mean, I know I mentioned that she was taking the Express Bus to Loony Park, but did I ever tell you guys how it ended? Basically, Elaine reached the end of her rapidly fraying tether so hard it practically bungeed her back through time, and then she quit, and then she unquit, and then�well, then she was just gone, and we didn�t know where or how, but we weren�t about to go looking. Sometimes it�s better to just take a breath and be happy that you�re not riddled with bullets from an office showdown with an unstable coworker, you know?

I should point out here that Sophie still hasn�t hired a replacement for Elaine.

In any case, I don�t know exactly why I would get anxious about New Girl possibly having resigned already. I mean, it�s not like her being around was going to help me out a whole hell of a lot, since I�m now permanently stuck with all the extra work I was hoping a second body would mitigate for me. Still, the company would have been nice. Not that I�m knocking Yoanna, because she�s been a great comfort to me in the past few weeks.

Did I mention that Yoanna had to move into my office? Sophie was at first terribly amused by the fact that Tony and I put Yoanna�s picture up on Sam�s former office door, periodically writing in lines of dialogue beneath her image so that the two of us could carry on a "conversation":

Yoanna�s Picture: HI, DR. NO!!!

Me: Hi, Yoanna!

Yoanna�s Picture: HOW ARE YOU TODAY?

Me: Oh, I�m fine! How are you?

Yoanna�s Picture: I LOVE BEING AMERICA�S NEXT TOP MODEL!

Me: I�ll bet! What�s it like?

Yoanna�s Picture: HI, DR. NO!!!

Me: Uh, yeah, hi already. So what�s it like being America�s Next Top Model?

Yoanna�s Picture: I LOVE BEING AMERICA�S NEXT TOP MODEL! HOW ARE YOU TODAY?

Me: I�m FINE! And I ASKED you a QUESTION!

Yoanna�s Picture: HI, DR. NO!!!

Me: STOP MOCKING ME!!!

But I think the amusement quickly wore off, and Sophie moved Yoanna into my office, because all the screaming was starting to bother people. There was also something about it not looking "professional", but I didn�t hear that part because Yoanna was sending me a secret message to KILL KILL KILL. I don�t know who I�m supposed to kill, though, because Sophie just kept talking.

So anyway, now New Girl is in Yoanna�s office -- or, she would be if she were here today -- and she seems like a nice person. In fact, she even recognized Yoanna when she came into my office and saw her picture, which automatically makes her cool in my book. All of that is irrelevant, of course, if it turns out that she quit before her second day on the job.

I just hope Yoanna didn�t have anything to do with it.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "I Dream of Jeannie" bound and gagged And: "famous people" balfour I�m Eating: Passover macaroons. Mmm� I�m Watching: Twin Peaks, and am quite upset that it ever got cancelled.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: HELP!

my next adventure: Alone Again, Naturally

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news