� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Personnel Differences �
3:50 a.m., 2004-12-16

So you�ll remember that, last time, I mentioned how that girl I�d been working with just got let go? Well, I�d like to explore that topic a little more. It seems quite apropos on this, the eve (well, technically the morn) of the Apprentice finale. Which, incidentally, I am not planning to watch, having become completely disenchanted with each and every contestant, not to mention Trump himself, over the course of this spiteful, backstabbing, blame-shifting season. Nor do I recommend it as a pastime for any of you, gentle readers. Besides, it�s so totally obvious that he�s going to hire Kelly, anyway.

But to get back to the subject at hand, I would like to talk about my former (and possibly future) co-worker, Ellie, and her replacement New Guy. The fact is, Ellie�s departure was foreshadowed just a trifle by the phone call she got last week from our supervisor, asking her not to return. She asked for another chance, and received it. Well, nominally, anyway. She got the call on a Wednesday, so she got about three days of chance, during which time she actually improved her performance quite a bit, I�d thought.

Not enough, though, apparently. I�m not sure what exactly they wanted her to do in those three days to prove herself, if it wasn�t just an overall stepping up of job performance, but whatever it was, she evidently didn�t do it. Maybe they could have given her a hint. Like, if all they wanted was for her to take the trash out once in a while, or pick the kids up after school, they could have just said so, you know? They didn�t have to go and drag the H.R. department into it.

Anyway, we (me and the other new addition to the team, Max) found out about Ellie the way any good employee wants to: we walked in on Monday evening to start our shift, found some dude sitting Ellie�s chair, and got a brief speech from our supervisor about how Ellie was �no longer with us�, and there was her replacement now. And can I just take a minute to point out how frustrating it is have your workforce dynamic changed on you in mid-flight without any word of warning from the higher-ups? I�m not saying they should have consulted me on the decision, or anything, but maybe a little call ahead to tell me not to bother bringing in that CD I promised to loan Ellie would have been nice. Also, �no longer with us�? First of all, that tired, old phrase has more mileage on it than a moving van, and second, can we come up with a different generic euphemism for �shitcanned� that doesn�t make it sound like the former employee might actually be deceased?

In any event, New Guy seemed nice enough, if a little quiet. Very quickly, though, he proved himself to be something of a problem. I mean, he�s not offensive or smelly or prone to violent outbursts (well, as far as I know�we�ve only worked together for three days so far)(and if he hasn�t taken out the trash yet, then that may be it, the way things are going), but what he is scary productive. I mean, this dude works like a machine, and did so much shit on his first night there that he practically lapped the rest of us!

Now, he�s good at what he does, and I certainly can�t fault him for that. Well, not without looking like a Class 1 choad, anyway. But he�s making the rest of look like a bunch of slackers, you know? And not to be all Brag McNerdly, but�I�m used to being the teacher�s pet, y�all! Until New Guy came to town, I was the one getting all the little comments and the pats on the back and the whatever, and then they go and hire this dude! And I don�t mean to sound like a sour persimmon, but he was clearly rebuilt with bionics in a secret, underground government laboratory, as part of weird experiment, and that�s the only reason he�s doing so well.

Okay, that�s not true. He�s very good at what he does, and deserves the proper credit for it. However, I still suddenly feel very vulnerable about this. I won�t be outdone, you guys. The gauntlet has been thrown down, and I shall rise to the challenge!

And then I will seriously need to go into a Dork Rehabilitation program.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: �stopped paying my bills� I�m Watching: Veronica Mars. Every good Holiday-themed episode ends in a gut-stabbing! I�m Not Exactly: Packing for my trip home for Christmas yet. This may sound strange, but I usually have to start setting things aside about a week in advance, so that I don�t forget anything, and even though I leave on Saturday, I�ve barely done anything. Just watch and I�ll forget to bring, like, clothes.

A Year Ago, I Said:

So then, to add insult to injury -- nay, make that �to heap insult upon injury� -- I washed my clothes this weekend, and one of my favorite sweaters shrank! I�ve had that thing for four years, and it�s now the size of a fucking cocktail napkin�obviously, the Universe is once again trying to tell me something, and I am once again too obtuse to figure it out. I�ll just have to sit here in my brand new doll-sweater and think about it.

The One With the Tiny Sweater
12-15-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Eyewitness

my next adventure: Roam For the Holidays

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news