� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Paris is Burning �
11:36 a.m., 2004-09-29

Can someone please explain to me what Paris Hilton�s appeal is? Seriously. I really want to know! And I know I�ve talked about this very same subject before, but since she made a cameo last night on Veronica Mars, I feel the wounds have been freshly opened and I am allowed to ask again: what the hell is the appeal of Paris Hilton??

Okay. I get that she�s rich and skinny and blonde. That�s what she�s pretty much known for. That fact has been permanently etched into the public consciousness like a 13th Century woodcarving of the Apocalypse�s Four Horsemen (Death, War, Famine, and Peroxide). You couldn�t miss it if you blindfolded, facing the other direction, and dead already. But is that really enough to warrant the ubiquitous attention from the media and her status as a sex symbol? Because she doesn�t look like she�d be very good at it. Sex, I mean. I don�t care what anybody thought of that Rick Solomon video (which I did not see, because�ew), she doesn�t look like sex would be a very exciting endeavor with her.

I mean, let�s break it down: aside from the knockers, which I�ll admit are nice (as these things go -- I am admittedly not the authority on knockers), she�s built like a ten-year-old boy. A ten-year-old boy with kind of fried-out hair extensions. And she�s always got her eyes kind of sqiunty and half-closed, as if she�s perpetually under the influence of over the counter night-time pain relievers, and giving that glassy, anemic smile that you occasionally get from lobotomy patients. Are lobotomies hot, now? When did that happen?

Let�s be real. Empirically speaking, aside from the skinny and the blonde (which are also acquired tastes, I should point out), she�s not really all that attractive. I mean, she�s just not! Squinty eyes, empty smile, shiny tuberculosis complexion, droopy nose job�it�s just not racking up the points, as far as I�m concerned. Sadly, it would also appear that Skinny, Rich, and Blonde also make up the base of her skill set. Certainly she can�t really list Moving and Talking on her CV, unless she wants to be laughed out of town. Sure, she makes occasional noises with her blowhole that simulate speech, like a dolphin, and she�s got that quarter-turn-for-the-cameras down pat, but that doesn�t make a solid foundation for stardom, people.

I don�t know. Maybe I�m being a bit harsh on her. I really do think that, if she cleaned up her act, she could certainly be a lot more compelling and interesting than she is at present. I mean, a little grace and class go a long way, as far as I�m concerned. She could really leave behind the parade of greasy, wannabe losers she�s been dating (I mean, Nick Carter? Rick Solomon? It�s like she�s figured out a great punchline, but she�s not yet aware the joke? Is on her.), and upgrade to some greasy, wannabe winners (like Fred Durst, or any other one of Britney�s castoffs)(you know, now that she�s "happily" "married", I�m sure she wouldn�t mind). (By the way, while we�re on the topic, have you seen Britney�s "wedding" photos? I love how her bra strap is totally hanging out of her wedding micro-mini, like clas-say.)

In any case, I just don�t get it. I think it�s kind of a sad reflection on us that we�re impressed and engrossed by Paris Hilton, not because of how she does so many great and interesting things, but because of how she pretty much does absolutely nothing. She�s rich and privileged and blessed with an almost unparalleled ability to help her fellow man through money and personal involvement (she doesn�t exactly have a 9 to 5 to worry about, y�all), and yet she squanders all of it on photo ops and disgustingly overpriced, frou-frou carrying cases for her un-housetrained dog, who still has the four capable legs God gave him, thank you very much.

Anyway, I suppose I have no right to judge Paris Hilton for how she lives her life, since I�m not her and don�t walk in her (grossly expensive) shoes. But I do live in America, and feel qualified to cluck my tongue a bit at her rather inexplicable celebrity. Sigh. Let�s all read a book.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: donkey punching wife I�m Watching: Veronica Mars, which is great, despite the fact that I kind of don�t much care for Paris Hilton. I�m Training: My replacement! Hooray!

A Year Ago, I Said:
However, I�m going to be completely honest and let you know that if I ever walked into a hotel room I was supposed to clean and found a body�? Hell no. I wouldn�t even stop moving; I�d just walk straight to the window and jump out, because I would have lost every last piece of my mind.

Seriously, Do Not Disturb
9-29-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Countdown to Goodbye

my next adventure: Go Long, New Girl

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news