� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Countdown to Goodbye �
3:06 p.m., 2004-09-27

The week has dawned in an uneasy way. It is officially the first of my last five days of in-office employ here at Arts-Friendly (I�ll have two days of vacation after that, so my last day on payroll will officially be Tuesday of next week), and I�m not quite sure how I feel about that. I mean, obviously I�ll be quite glad to be not tied to this office anymore, but the prospect of a relatively unforeseeable future does give me a butterfly or two. Also, the fact that I apparently am not getting a replacement after all (at least, not one that�s around for me to train) is a tad bit unsettling.

Oh, who am I kidding? Why should I give a shit if I�m getting a replacement or not? I�m not going to be around to be screwed over by the change in company line-up, and that�s the whole friggin� point. It really does feel pretty good to do unto others as they�ve done unto me. Admittedly, those unto whom I doing are not the ones who have historically done unto me the worst, but since I can�t figure out a way to make Anna suffer for it, I�ll just have to content myself by taking it out on whoever�s available now.

I seriously can�t believe I don�t have a replacement yet. That�s a point I can�t seem to get past. Actually, I feel quite stymied on numerous fronts today�it would seem that the overwhelming notion of my looming freedom from this company is really beginning to take root in my subconscious. It�s odd and a little scary to think of a great big world out there that isn�t 80% full of Arts-Friendly, and Arts-Friendly related aggravation. I don�t know what I�ll do with myself.

Honestly, though, people�I really don�t know what I�ll do with myself. I should point out now (it�s as good a time as any) that I don�t really have an elsewhere to be once this week is out. Perhaps you might think it a bit premature of me to quit my job without having a new one in place, but the decision was neither as impulsive nor (quite) as stupid as the move itself would suggest. I have a contingency plan to take care of myself while I find a new, steady occupation. I call it "Operation: Whoring".

Actually, that�s a joke; I really call my contingency plan "Operation: Mom and Dad are Extremely Generous". Not that I�m going to coast on their generosity forever or anything, but it is all thanks to them that I was able to leave this job in the first place. If you think I�ve bitched about working here in this space, just be glad you�re not related to me, because hoo boy! Anyway, they eventually reasoned with me that sticking around at this job was ridiculous, because I didn�t like it, and it was completely consuming me and making me just generally kind of implode, and it was more important to them that I quit and find some peace than keep going and run myself into the ground trying to prove I could be a Responsible Adult, and now do you see why I love them so darn much?

I�m not planning to take Mom and Dad to the cleaners, mind you, but they�re providing me with a great opportunity to really find something that suits me far more than the Olympiad of escalating obligations and stagnant income that life at Arts-Friendly has become. So, thanks, Mom and Dad; you guys rule. I promise I�ll stick you in the best nursing home that I can afford! (Just kidding!)

Anyway, before I get to the point where I have the time and energy to search for another job, I still have a week of hurdles to jump here in my current one. I suppose I ought to get down to it. After all, I�ve only got four days left�

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "pierce brosnan�s age" I�m Watching: America�s Next Top Model. Hooray! It�s back! I�m Reading: A Cook�s Tour, by Anthony Bourdain. The subject matter appeals to me greatly. The author, however, does not.

A Year Ago, I Said:
See, I�m having a bit of a situation at work. Nothing serious, but there are a couple of people over there who might need to get buried alive in cement.

Thorns in My Side
9-26-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: The Friday Blues

my next adventure: Paris is Burning

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news