� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Hell No, We Won't Glow! �
10:24 a.m., 2003-12-03

So they�ve got these new glow-in-the-dark fish now. I don�t know how I feel about that. I�ve made it my policy up to this point not to weigh in on the ongoing moral war over genetic engineering, but I feel that glowing fish are really my prompt to take action. I can handle a little Recombinant Bovine Growth Hormone and steroidal chickens in my life, but when you start trying to foist monstrous, glowing ichthyoids onto our nation�s youth as pets, I�ve about had enough!

I mean, sure, today it�s just a zebra fish enhanced with chromosomes pirated from sea anemone in order to make them fluoresce in black light, but tomorrow it�s going to be a winged, vampiric horse with arms, trying to steal your babies and make off into the night to join the Dark Prince atop Mount Vesuvius for a ritual homicide! I�m sorry, but not in my neighborhood! I usually try to be tolerant, and to support the scientific community in its pursuit for the betterment of mankind, but in this particular instance I say, go, California ban on genetically engineered species, go!

What if they decide to start shooting your babies up with jellyfish DNA to make them glow in the dark? (This, of course, would probably happen before they got stolen away by the winged horse -- unless that�s been their plan all along!!) No, I�m sorry. This fish thing sets way too dangerous a precedent for fooling around in God�s domain. Next thing you know, they�ll be cloning barnyard animals!

Why does that sound so familiar? Never mind. What if these soulless, bloodsucking, zombie fish get loose in the wild? What then? What if Little Timmy flushes one of these fish by accident, or, because he�s been shot up with jellyfish DNA and raised by a vampiric centaur, on purpose? And then it gets out into the open water and starts breeding with innocent fish just trying to lead their fish lives and lay some eggs and go to school and work part time at the diner while they dream of bigger fish things (or whatever it is that fish do, I wouldn�t really know, I guess), not realizing they've just given birth to some sociopathic mutant? WHAT THEN, SCIENCE COMMUNITY??? Riddle me that!

Let�s turn this thing on its head: how would you feel if you met someone special, got married, had kids, and settled down somewhere in the country in a lovely house with a picket fence and all the rest of it�only to find out that your betrothed was built in a lab??? That beatific glow is not the effervescent aura of happiness and contentment, as you suspected, but really millions and millions of tiny, hatchet-wielding, crazy-eyed phosphor molecules, implanted there by a mad scientist with a bent towards world-domination (not that there�s anything wrong with that), and any day now you might fall victim to his evil plans! Your hubby is encoded with the strategy for world destruction! Your children are now pawns in a twisted game of the invasion and decimation of the human species! Will no one think of the children??

No, I say! We cannot stand for glowy fish, no matter how pretty they might be! I exhort you, friends, to take a stand with me, and show these science-y types where to stick it.

It feels good to have a cause, doesn�t it?

Someone Got Here By Searching For: beaded seat cover ergonomic And: "cough up" tissue I�m Watching: Line of Fire, because I love Leslie Hope (and Jessica) I�m Happy Because: I finished all my Holiday shopping. Wooooo!

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: 0 to 60 in Twenty Minutes

my next adventure: F�r Ihren H�renden Genu�

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news