� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Go East! �
2:13 a.m., 2005-03-11

It is my pleasure to report that at least one of the gigantic question marks recently seen floating above our domicile has been seized and beaten into a submissive exclamation point. As of yesterday, May Day and I have officially found and claimed a new place in which to hang our respective hats! Thanks to ApartmentGate, there was some worry and gnashing of teeth over the somewhat pressing need to relocate (and the massive inconvenience visited upon us by same), but I am happy to report that a new apartment has been found, a holding deposit has been put down, and by Monday (most likely), it will be ours to move into whenever we are ready.

I don�t mind telling you that this is a huge load off my mind, although the truth of the matter is that finding an apartment is the easiest part of this whole task. There�s still the packing...and the packing, and the packing, and the packing...but you get the picture. After all that, there�s the actual moving, and the hoping you didn�t forget anything, and the hoping the moving guys don�t break anything or just generally screw you over (no offense to my moving guy friends out there, but...been there, been screwed over), and once actually there, there�s the unpacking. And the unpacking, and the unpacking, and...you get it.

Still, this is quite a step in the right direction. And not only that, but the location is primo, my friends. Not only is the place cheaper, but it sports the hardwood floors and is centrally located to almost everyone I know in Los Angeles. Plus it�s walking distance from Target, and I�d be lying like a motherfucker if I pretended that wasn�t a factor is our (or at least my) decision to take the place. I mean, come on! I�m actually getting a little worried that a disgruntled prospective tenant will put a hex on us for stealing away his chance at permanent, free Target parking every single day.

Another thing I�m very excited about, in regard to the new place, is the fact that I will no longer have an hour-long commute into Hollywood whenever I want to go out and, you know, do anything. Seriously, it�s the worst. There�s this stretch of Olympic Blvd.�like, the part between Hollywood and the Pacific Ocean�that has so many potholes, it looks like L.A. survived the Blitzkrieg, or something. Or like the Department of Parks and Recreation is building a string of swimming pools in the center of the leftmost eastbound through lane. Either way, it sucks my ass twice in a row, and I�ll be glad when I don�t have to do it anymore. Honestly, after you�ve been driving for about forty-five minutes, and the sun is beating through your windshield, and about five or six fucking Beverly Hills types narrowly miss rear-ending you into the front window display of a Pavilions supermarket, you begin to forget what life is like outside the car.

All that will be but a memory, however! I�m positively ecstatic about that, I promise, but of course there are still a lot of hurtles to jump (or crawl under, depending on whichever is cheaper, quicker, or less likely to draw attention from the Feds) before we are settled in and ready to say it was worth it. First with the packing, and then the arranging for the move, and...well, read the list from paragraph two. The point is that we found a new place and are very optimistic about it.

Anyway, I�ll keep you posted on the saga of the New Apartment, and also about our new landlord who might or might not be a little bit...odd. For now, however, please just rest assured that we will not be moving into a cardboard box in the alley behind the mall anytime soon. Well, at least not too soon.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: funny staff meetings I�m Watching: Alias. Happy Birthday, Nadia! I think? I�m Reading: I finished reading Deal Breaker, which was amusing, but I feel I�d need to read more of his stuff before making any judgment call..

A Year Ago, I Said:

Doesn�t that seem a little skeevy? Renting a date? I mean, even if you�re not planning on doing anything kinky and expensive. And if you aren�t planning on doing anything kinky and expensive, why are you renting a date at all? Wouldn�t it be a more economical decision to just take a friend? Plus, then you�d have something to talk about besides, "So�does your family know you�re offering coupons in the paper?"

�Quel Genre de Balles Entrent Dans ce Pistolet?�
3-10-2004

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: News of My Boyfriend Has Been Greatly Exaggerated

my next adventure: Absolutely Fabio

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news