� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Got To Give It Up �
10:39 a.m., 2004-02-26

It would seem that the first day of the Lenten fast came upon me quickly and quietly, like a thief in the night, determined to steal away all of my precious vices. Fortunately, I was prepared. Over the years, I have discovered the best way to combat the stringent rules of Lent is to not be a Catholic, and therefore completely forget when the period of atonement and sacrifice is supposed to begin. Ash what? Who?

I have been aided and abetted in my non-Catholicism by sympathetic parents, who raised me as they themselves were raised: in the staunch tradition of non-practicing, agnostic, and/or atheist protestant/Jewish secularism. It was a beautiful childhood. All the holidays, none of the fuss or squabble over attending services or adhering to religious strictures. And yet here I am, all grown up (in the physical sense, if not the mental -- sigh), and I�m once again considering what I ought to give up for Lent. Where did my parents go wrong?

Admittedly, I�m a little late with this consideration, what with the period of the fast having begun yesterday. Also admittedly, I�m not giving anything up for strictly religious purposes. As I believe I discussed in this space last year, I feel a certain amount of self-imposed sacrifice helps to strengthen and define a person�s character, and that is always a good and respectable thing. Of course, with my whole �not being a Catholic� vibe, if I screw up, who cares? Who also cares if it takes me until Easter to determine just what, exactly, I�ll be forfeiting these long forty days?

Being as it is the second day of Lent already, and taking into account that I�d not realized the fast had already begun until sometime yesterday afternoon, I�m already a little cornered as far as my options are concerned, in choosing my personal sacrifice. It�s too late to give up coffee, and far too late to give up chocolate. Both of which are just as well. If I had to give up one or the other, I might as well kill myself now and save my withdrawal symptoms the trouble. I could give up chips, but I never eat chips. I could give up soda, but I hardly ever drink soda. I could give up cake, but, again, death.

I already only eat meat once a week, and don�t partake of junk food or ice cream enough that giving them up would be of significant impact. I guess the truth is that my lack of commitment to Lent makes me far less willing to forego the vices I ascribe to (chocolate and television being chief among them) that would be the most difficult to abandon. Plus, yesterday I had some chocolate and watched a lot of trash TV, so�too late! I could give up lettuce again, but why wage a battle I already know I�m going to lose? It�s tricky, this decision.

I suppose, rather than giving up something specific, I could just�give up. I mean, now that Sam has tendered her two week notice to Sophie (did I forget to mention that?), my already insane workload will likely increase another 50%, at least. The graceful thing to do at this point would probably be to just surrender and allow myself to be consumed and digested by Arts-Friendly.

Unless, of course, the company has decided give me up for Lent. Then all bets are off.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: Pier 1�s budget And: she chop his balls off I�m Watching: The O.C., and still waiting on that bear. And: Angel, which actually had me riveted for the first time in a long time.

A Year Ago, I Said:

I'll get over it, sure, but right now I feel like that short chick from Little House on the Prairie who got clotheslined by a low-hanging tree branch when her horse went berzerk and she ended up lying in the dirt, staring up at the sky, going, "The fuck? What the fuck? Did I win? Grandma, is that you? I'm coming towards the light, Grandma!" I don't want to be the short chick.
Getting Psyched
2-26-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Deliver Us From Temptation Island

my next adventure: Oscar� the Grouch

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news