� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Tickle Me Emo �
11:59 a.m., 2003-04-29

Why do people always ask you stuff like, �So�what kind of music do you listen to?� Does anyone really care? I mean, what exactly are they looking for when asking a question like that? If you asked someone, �So�what kind of music do you listen to?� and they answered, �You know, like, John Tesh, Yanni, Kenny G�the usual!� would you totally stop speaking to them?

When I was in London, I met this weird Italian girl who was absolutely fascinated with American music. She kept asking me what music I listened to, and I�d just shrug and be like, �You know, all kinds of music.� Evidently, eclecticism was not a concept with which she cared to familiarize herself, and she kept trying to get me to commit to a particular genre. So I finally announced that, at the time, I was very into Aimee Mann.

Me: Well, lately I�ve really gotten into Aimee Mann.

Italian Girl: Eminem?

Me: Aimee Mann.

IG: Eminem?

Me: Aimee Mann.

IG: Eminem?

Me: �sure, Eminem.

IG: Oh, I like him too!

The problem is, I�m always afraid I�m going to say something�wrong. I mean, I don�t listen to John Tesh, Yanni, or Kenny G, but there are so many other artists out there who completely polarize the public. I know a fair number of people who think Sheryl Crow is Satan�s Whore, but just as many who love her. I know people who like Green Day, and people who think they�re a bunch of crappy sell-outs.

So the question has become this: to what do I cop, in regards to my musical interests? I�ve taken to being very evasive when confronted with that question lately. Like, I�ll insist that I like almost everything -- and I do indeed like at least a few songs or artists from almost every genre -- but my CD collection won�t always back me up on that. Do I tell someone I really like Coldplay just to impress them, when the fact of the matter is that I just really like that one song by them that I�ve heard, but I�m not sure I want to buy the CD, because what if I don�t like the album, since it�s not stuff to which I typically listen?

Likewise, how safe is it to admit that I like, for example, Aimee Mann? I think she�s brilliant, but it�s not radio-friendly fare. I mean, she�s indie, which automatically garners her at least a little respect from serious musical enthusiasts, but she�s also pretty artsy, which can be a serious deficit. I mean, you tell people you listen to an �artsy� female musician, and suddenly you�re branded an Emo Kid. I�m not an Emo Kid! I like some Emo music, but I also listen to The White Stripes! I swear it! I just can't afford their album right now!

But if I could, should I buy it? I don�t even know if they have any cred anymore! I mean, the punk movement is so bizarre. It�s like, the minute people start listening to you, you�re out. If you get air time, you�re automatically too �mainstream�, and you�re exiled from the counterculture movement. So am I going to be branded a poseur prep kid who thinks he�s got �edge� because he listens to masses-friendly punk rock? Or what?

I guess a better question would be, why do I care? I guess I don�t, when I think about it. I like what I like, and if that makes me a poseur, or an Emo Kid, then so be it. Still, I hate to be automatically categorized when I meet people, simply based on what�s in my CD player. Like why don�t you get to know me before deciding what categories I fit into? Plus, I don�t want to handicap myself when I meet someone for the first time. I prefer my personality speak for me, rather than my tastes.

Then again, maybe I have the personality of a poseur Emo Kid who thinks he�s got edge. In which case, I guess the point is pretty moot.

Today�s Quiz: What Kind of Emo Kid Are You?

Normal
You're pretty damn Normal. You like Emo, but...
there's other music out there for you. You're
damn cool.

What Kind of Emo Kid are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Well, then, it�s decided. I�m damn cool.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: Michael Jackson is crazy now And: Christina is evil I�m Watching: All-new TV shows tonight! Whoopee! I�m Eating: Same old, same old. I�m really fiending for some freedom fries, though. I�m debating the prudence of spending the money, and it�s not a pretty conflict.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Wallet & Grimace

my next adventure: Read My Screen: BACK OFF!

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news