� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Middle Finger Discount �
12:16 a.m., 2003-09-18

Having come to the conclusion that I should maybe try to keep a more positive attitude about my thoroughly hopeless working conditions, I made the effort to be a little more upbeat today. I think it worked, too. I only threatened to take a pair of scissors to my own jugular one time this afternoon, and after she wrestled them from my grasp and slapped me, Patrice and I had a good, long laugh about it. Ah, the good times.

But seriously, I tried to be less resentful about the whole situation. I mean, maybe Sophie is confident enough in the work I�ve been doing that she feels I can manage for a while without being able to access any of the files, software, or emails that are absolutely imperative for me to function in an effective capacity! Maybe she�s worried that if she made New Girl, who admitted to me today that she still doesn�t know what she�s doing, give up her computer, she wouldn�t find anything to occupy her time! Then again, maybe she thinks I don�t actually do anything important, so who cares if I know what�s going on or not? Hmm...it's possible I need continued work on this resentment issue.

All I know is, I had two meetings this morning, and I really didn�t have my shit together for either one. So instead, I read my book all morning (and part of the afternoon) and I got paid for it. Really, it�s pretty much all bright side when you think about it, so maybe I should just quit complaining, huh? Cute Receptionist actually had to work today. Ha! Sucker. Bet he wishes someone had stolen his compu�oh wait, that�s right, they did.

Anyway, after work I had to do some quick shopping. By �quick shopping�, I mean that I didn�t plan on spending long in the actual store. As it turns out, with rush hour traffic in LA being similar to a glacial freeze, the trip itself ended up taking me over two hours. And, might I add, it was the most unpleasant shopping trip I�ve had to date.

So I go into this shop, which we�ll call Chez Rip-Off, and this extremely stern-looking woman �greets� me at the door. She had a face like a battleship and was wearing this dress she had clearly stolen from a German prison wardress. Immediately upon entering (and helping myself to a piece of candy, proffered by a nearby mannequin) I found myself fixed with about the most unforgiving and bone-chilling glare this side of a cockatrice. And then? Ilsa began to follow me around the shop.

Now, I don�t just mean that she kept a watchful eye on me, or that she popped up at random intervals to ask if she could help me locate anything -- I mean that she literally stayed within five feet of me the entire time I was there, making sure I didn�t try anything. I wasn�t the only customer in the store, either, but I was evidently the only one that looked like he might steal something, because she pretty much ignored everyone else as she followed me from one room to another, circling around display racks in order to head me off at the pass, should I be trying to lose her. I don�t think I could have been treated with more suspicion if I�d walked in sporting a Zorro mask and a black-and-white striped uniform with a serial number on the back. And I looked respectable, you guys; I mean, I was wearing a tie, for fuck�s sake!

Finally, after an extremely uncomfortable fifteen minutes, during which time Ilsa repeatedly snapped at me every time I endeavored to ask a question, I finally gave up and left. I can�t say for certain, but I�m pretty sure the set of her freakish rictus was meant to approximate a triumphant smile as she walked me to the door and watched me leave without the illegal bounty I�d obviously had my heart set on. Who knows? Perhaps I owe Ilsa a debt of gratitude for ensuring that no latent kleptomaniac tendencies had an opportunity to manifest themselves on this particular shopping trip out of many.

Then again, maybe I just owe her a really nasty letter.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: cockwad And: USC Greek House Addresses I�m Watching: Alias. Strangely, I�m still in the mood for face-kicking. I�m Reading: Empire Falls, but given how long it is and how little time I have, I could be reading this book forever.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Universe: 1, Dr. No: 0

my next adventure: If You Can Live With it...

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news