� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Debt Man Walking �
10:57 a.m., 2004-01-13

Drinking on Monday? Bad plan. Well, I mean, good plan on the face of it, but in practice? Bad plan. I could probably do without the Tuesday morning office hangover. Not that I got totally shitfaced last night or anything -- I�m not even miserable, just�groggy -- but Tuesday�s hard enough as it is, yo.

But I deserved a drink (or two), because last night I got The Bill. I�d been dreading seeing this thing for the last two months or so, knowing that it would be astronomically high, and knowing that my poor, naked, emaciated bank account probably couldn�t withstand even the threat of the punishment it promised. I�d charged both the rental car as well as my insurance deductible to that account, so I knew it would be artificially inflated (both expenses being covered by the insurance company), but even so, when I opened it and saw those numbers running about the page like a gaggle of Civil War junkies reenacting the Battle of Gettysburg, with my social life being the lone casualty, I nearly fainted.

It didn�t help that they rather arbitrarily decided to end my billing cycle last Monday afternoon, immediately after I charged the deductible and before I had a chance to send out the payment to cover it, which I did later that evening. When I sat down in the war room and plotted it out, I discovered that I�d actually done a pretty good job of living within my means last month�unless, of course, you count the literally hundreds of dollars I had to spend on Christmas gifts. Which I don�t, since that�s not a regular monthly expense. Oh, except for how it is, since I have four birthdays to buy for in the next two months.

It also doesn�t help my cause that I�ve pretty much already overspent this month, thanks largely to my oil change/tire rotation and the ticket I got on Saturday for having expired plates (I forgot to put my renewal sticker on when I got the car back on Monday -- some evil genius I turned out to be). And then I have relatives coming to town this week, and they�ll probably want to meet for dinner, which will also cost money�see where this is going?

Ugh. Anyway, I�m going to shut up about it now, because it�s getting depressing. Let�s talk about something else. Like my hair! I have this piece of hair sticking out at the back of my head, and it�s really driving me crazy. I can�t get it to calm down and play nice with the rest of my hair (which is admittedly also a bit disorderly, as my hair is just wont to be that way), and I�m kind of at a loss for how to deal with it. Currently I�m pretending that I meant it to be like that, like I�m trying out something bold and new. I don�t think I�m fooling anyone, though.

And now I don�t have a snappy ending for my diary. Stupid piece of hair. It ruins everything.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: loose 21 grams when you die And: orbitz commercial actress I�m Watching: 30 Minute Meals With Rachael Ray, because I�m weak. I�m Saving Money By: Not hitting the vending machine this afternoon.

A Year Ago, I Said:

"Maybe, just as I owe you the common courtesy of not ripping that foul, poisonous, deadly, noxious deathstick out of your lips and stomping it into the pavement, you owe me the common courtesy of allowing me to not smoke."
If You�re Smoking, You�d Better Be On Fire
1-13-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Another One Where I Just Kind of Ramble

my next adventure: Birthquake

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news