� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� I Don't Wanna Wait For This Crap To Be Over �
11:14 a.m., 2003-05-15

Well, let�s begin with a look back at last night�s American Idol: in a non-surprise move, Kimberley Locke was totally voted off the island, and Ruben and Clay are now headed for what promises to be a very entertaining showdown. I have to say I�m pleased with the results. I�ll miss Kim, but I think she made it as far as she should have.

Tamyra Gray also came back last night to perform an overlong and unremittingly lousy rendition of �Somewhere Over the Rainbow�. I mean, I like Tamyra as a singer -- I think she�s got wonderful control and technique and all that -- but that song was crap. She was shaky, off-key, and slower than a bar on a Tuesday afternoon. But maybe I�m just biased against the modernization (the popping, if you will) of, you know, songs like �Somewhere Over the Rainbow�. And that�s not a Gay Thing, either, that�s a Purist thing. Turning �Somewhere Over the Rainbow� into a modern power ballad is like creating a hip-hop cover of �Surrey With a Fringe On Top�. Which is to say: stupid.

Also last night was the final, wheezing gasp of that hoary �teen� �angst�-fest, Dawson�s Crap. Excuse me, �Creek�. And let me just say that it came not a minute too soon. Now I�ve watched that show since its first, fairly inoffensive episode �lo these many years ago, and I stuck with it to the bitter, crappy, self-indulgent end. Why, you might ask, would I put myself through that? Let me tell you.

Well, to begin with, I watched the first season because it didn�t suck too badly, and it was on after Buffy. I watched the second season because it still had a few redeeming qualities, and it was on before Felicity. I watched its third season because�well, okay, here�s where it gets a little flimsy. I had this personal goal, see, to have one show for which I�d seen every single episode, and given that I�d missed an episode of Buffy, DC was the front-runner. Plus, it was so incredibly insulting that it filled me with a blinding, white-hot rage, and I needed something to get passionate about every week.

After living through the abysmal third year of that low-grade, demeaning, offensive, misogynist pap, I couldn�t very well stop, could I? So I stuck around for the whiny fourth season, the boring fifth season, and finally, the substance-free, bland, and tedious sixth season. And I watched the finale last night to make sure the damn thing was dead. And I�m quite happy to report that it wasn�t anywhere near as awful as it deserved to be.

For those of you who haven�t seen it yet, these next two paragraphs will spoil it. First of all, I�m so glad that Pacey and Joey ended up together, if not because they belonged together (though they did), then because it meant that stupid-ass Dawson didn�t get to own Joey like he�s felt he�s deserved to all along. Second of all, I�m glad he ended up alone, because I hate him. Third of all, I�m glad that when it all shook out in the end, Pacey and Joey were happy together, and Dawson had no one. Yay! But seriously, the finale was actually a real tearjerker, because Michelle Williams�s character, the sadly misunderstood Jen, gave up the ghost and died from a mysterious heart condition. I won�t go into all the details except to say that Michelle Williams just kicked the ass out of that role, and the scenes with her, Jack, and Grams absolutely broke my heart. I was also impressed by Kerr Smith (which pains me to admit), whose acting skills I�ve previously compared unfavorably with those of the Olson twins�. From back in their Full House days.

Anyway, it was very well done, although there were plenty of times I had reason to exercise my eye-rolling muscles. For instance, during any scene with Dawson and Joey. I�ve been roundly ignoring their crap since season two, though, so that was no big change. There was also a scene where Jack admonishes the others not to cry in front of Jen after they�ve learned of her condition, and I had to snort out loud, because it�s like those self-absorbed snots could cry about anything but themselves anyway. I also loved the part where Dawson, Joey, and Pacey are leaving the hospital, Joey gets a call from her boyfriend, and Dawson remarks, �And the triangle becomes a square.� The triangle always was a square, you dickhole! Remember Jen? The one who�s fucking dying? Whatever. The show always marginalized and ignored her, and it was nice to finally have some focus redirected to a criminally underused actress and character. It didn�t make up for six years of crappy treatment, but it was as good as one could hope.

Anyway, it�s all over now. My tape cut off the last fifteen minutes, though, so I�m sure I missed some really important stuff, but I think I got everything I needed to see. And now I�m free. Free! That show is out of my life forever!

Drinks are on me, okay?

Today�s Quiz: Which Dawson�s Creek Character Are You?

HASH(0x86b88e8)
You r Pacey Witter. By the way , did I mentioned
how much i love you ?I love you because you are
charming and also because you're a good
guy!...Good luck with Joey! ...C'mon , Iknow
you love her.... God ! You r so HOT !

Which Dawson's Creek Character are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

Woooo! I m HOT!

Someone Got Here By Searching For: twig OR twiggy OR scrawny �skinny girl� And: sexy evil chicks I�m Watching: The season finales of Friends and Will & Grace are tonight. I�m Eating: These new Guacamole Doritos -- and let me tell you, these things are pretty freakin� good!

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: In Which Our Hero Lacks a Cohesive Theme

my next adventure: Musings of a Tired, Bored Guy

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news