� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Chairman of the Bored �
7:16 p.m., 2003-06-13

So day three of the new job is officially behind me, and I have reached three new conclusions.

The number one conclusion is that this job maybe isn�t so bad as I originally thought. This is not to say that isn�t as boring as I originally thought (because it totally is), but it�s less mind-breakingly unbearable than I thought. I still really enjoy all the morning stuff (when no one�s around), but quickly lose my fire after lunch. Although I do believe I have found the way to replace my fire, as detailed below under conclusion number three.

The second conclusion I�ve come to is that these people I work for actually seem to believe their own publicity. Like, they really seem to think their support staff is going to be thrilled by the promise of a tote bag if they up their sales. Like, get real. It�s a fucking tote bag, not a convertible.

And remember when I mentioned Shirley, from Random Arts Organization #34? The one with the really, really bad attitude? Yeah, they all say things like, �Oh, she�s just so funny! She was having a bad day, is all. When she�s in a good mood, she�s a real hoot! She�s just kind of hot and cold, that one.� I�m like, �No, so far all my interaction with her, including emails, have shown her to be a bossy, demanding, shrewish harpy with no sense of reality.� There are things these people are afraid to tell her, for Pete�s sake! Why do they cut her so much slack? I�m glad you asked. The answer is money.

Conversely, I had my first conversation with Helen, of The Extremely Testy Ballet Troupe, today. I have been warned about Helen since I started on Tuesday. Everyone told me that she�s a real piece of work, that she�s unreasonable and suspicious, and Susie couldn�t stress enough how hard it was to work with her, because she was constantly demanding to speak with Sophie (Big Boss Lady). So we had a teleconference today�and the woman was just lovely! The only issue was that she�s been asking them to inform donors about a certain promotion they�ve been running, and Sophie doesn�t want to do it. Like, Sophie�s been jerking this poor woman around for months now, and Helen is starting to get sick of it. They made it sound like this woman was completely nuts, when in reality, she�s just pissed-off because she�s paying us and we�re not doing what she�s repeatedly asked. The difference? TETBT doesn�t pull in as much green as RAO34.

The third conclusion I�ve drawn is that I? Really need to cut back on the coffee. I get so bored at these staff meetings that all I can do to entertain myself is chug that sweet elixir of life called espresso. So fifteen minutes into our conference and I�m twitching, thumping my leg, and unable to concentrate on what people are saying over the strange buzzing in my ears. Plus, I had to act like I was actually paying attention to what was going on, so I pretended I was taking notes on the meeting by scribbling down things like �everybody thinks I�m taking notes on the meeting.�

It wasn�t until our second staff meeting of the day that I really wanted to pop open a vein, though. You know what happens when you chug espresso and are then forced to just sit there for hours and hours? YOU LOSE YOUR MIND!

Now, if you�ll excuse me, I have to go run around the block about fifty times.

Today�s Quiz: �Is Not Happening. The Bitchass Site Won�t Load Properly.
Someone Got Here By Searching For: skinny little asses And: �looks like michael vartan� I�m Watching: Grease 2, which I am only admitting in the safe anonymity of the internet. Favorite Note From Today�s Staff Meeting: �I hope nobody asks to see these notes.�

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Dammit, Jim! I'm Not An Account Executive!

my next adventure: The Answer Is Three!

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news