� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Let Them Eat...Something Else. �
11:20 a.m., 2004-04-26

The next time I hear somebody use the axiom "It�s a piece of cake", I�m going to kick them in the crotch so hard I�ll leave a footprint on their grandchildren. It�s not that I have anything against cake itself -- I mean, you guys already know about my fondness for sugar -- but just yesterday, I met a cake that really had something against me.

It was May Day�s birthday, you see, and so I endeavored to put together a birthday cake, as you do. And I wasn�t going all Iron Chef on this or anything -- I didn�t have any ingredients to make one from scratch, which was probably a good thing, because if I�d complicated matters any more, I might have blown up the entire building -- I just got a trusty store-bought mix and some frosting, and set about making a very simple, but tasty, confection.

And God laughed.

To begin with, when I was mixing the stupid batter, I somehow managed to lose control of the beaters. What followed was an extremely exhilarating thirty seconds during which time I christened the countertops, the wall, and the carpet with Betty Crocker�s finest. Cursing modern technology (as you do), I wiped down the kitchen immediately, but sorta kinda accidentally didn�t notice the carpet problem until much later, at which point the muck had solidified, and I practically had to chisel the dried slop out of the shag.

Then, after a rousing game of "Whoops -- I shouldn�t have greased the sides of the cake pans, only the bottoms", I went to the put the thing in the pre-heated oven�only to discover that the oven wasn�t pre-heated. Or heated at all. In fact, it was actually just hissing angrily, releasing poisonous gas into the air. Which might explain my malfunctioning motor skills. At least, that�s what I�m going to tell people.

Anyway, I spent the next half-hour trying to get the oven to fire up. I checked the pilot light, which was on, and I even flipped the stove burners on and off a few times as an example for the oven. "See? Do you see? The stove has its shit together! Maybe I should just be cooking on the stove! Maybe we don�t even need an oven! What do you think about that? You�re practically obsolete anyway, now that we have a microwave! How do you like them apples?" Then I waited a little while, and tried it again, nearly gassing myself to death. As I stuck my face into the broiler to triple-check the pilot, it occurred to me that many a scene in Final Destination began that way.

Eventually -- and on the Last Time Before I Just Give Up And Cook This Shit In The Microwave After All -- the oven finally turned over, and we were in business! �And then we were out of business twenty minutes later when I pulled the cake rounds out of the oven to discover that they were still practically soup. It would seem that despite getting the oven to work, I still managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory by setting the temperature too low. So I spent another half-hour checking the damn cake every five minutes to make sure it didn�t burn or turn into cake jerky. Finally, it hit the right consistency, with minimal scarring, and I pulled it out to cool.

Then, when I was turning the rounds out to frost them, a chunk stuck to the bottom of the pan, leaving a crater in the first layer of the cake. Of course. So I pasted the chunk back on with frosting, which I had to apply with a butter knife, and then I discovered I�d forgotten to buy candles�well, in short, it was not exactly smooth sailing.

I�m not sure what the hell was going on with my baking karma yesterday. I mean, I may not be Sarah Moulton, Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine, but my culinary expeditions are usually less Lewis & Clark-y than that.

Oh well -- I may not be winning any competitions, but as long as it tastes good, that�s what counts, right?

Someone Got Here By Searching For: "lick the baby" pussy I�m Watching: Arrested Development, which is too good a show to not get cancelled, if history is any example. And: Alias, in which Michael Vartan removed his shirt. Hooray!

A Year Ago, I Said:

Close your eyes and picture it in your head: next week's American Idol. Carmen-less. Sans Carmen. The amount of Carmen being in direct proportion to the amount of high-powered debate on the topic of the Iran-Contra scandal. Which is to say, hopefully none.
Best! Episode! Ever!
4-24-2004

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: You Got Your Guar Gum in My Chocolate!

my next adventure: Read My Lips: Abab Caolea Doebopiu!

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news