� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� In Which Our Hero Heads Back Into the Breach �
4:03 p.m., 2003-01-06

Well. This is going to be a loaded entry.

First off, I'm back! Woooo! Just in case no one noticed, I've been off the radar since just after Christmas, mostly because I spent four days in Florida, sans internet access, for a family reunion, and then didn't have time to get back on afterward.

Second item of business, I would like to extend some love out to May Day, who lost her job this morning. Seriously, she's one of the brightest, most resourceful and resilient people I've ever met, so I'm sure she'll be fine, but it still sucks. This Thursday will mark the one year anniversary of me getting cast out from the workforce at Heartless Insurance, Ltd, so I know the feeling. It sucks, and it hurts, and it makes you pissed off and despondent, and then you remember that it's just a stupid job, and it doesn't define who you are or make you a good person, and you decide to take yourself out to make yourself feel better, and then you realize you can't afford to go out because you don't have a job anymore, and then it's back to despondency again. In the meantime, I really hope I can be a good friend/roommate for her and give her the support she needs. I loves ya, May Day.

Third. What the hell is up with today? I had to get up at 2:00am PST yesterday so I could catch my flight to LA, and during the course of the journey I got this marvelous second wind that prevented me from napping for the rest of the day. Unfortunately, it left me completely discombobulated, and when I had to drag my ass out of bed at 7:00 this morning in order to get to work at Titanic Cruises, I wanted to die. Plus, I've got this killer headcold that I've been plagued by for the last two weeks, so I totally feel like I'm on opium or something.

Of course, what didn't help that was the fact that two days ago I was hanging out with Pussy Galore and child, and she was all, "Hold the baby! Lick the baby! Let the baby spit in your mouth!" and then she's all, "Oh, by the way, the baby has that Norwalk-like Virus or some shit, and she's been shooting it out of both ends for the last week. Oh, and she's highly contagious, and everyone who's touched her has gotten it. Hope you don't have to work on Monday!" Thanks. Thanks a lot. So now, every time I feel even remotely sick to my stomach (which is all too frequently, given that I'm already sick), I'm afraid I'll be doing the Toilet Bowl Dash at a moment's notice.

So I'm thinking it would be great to have a nice, slow day to ease me back into the old routines. Ha ha. The phone has rung no fewer than 93 times today. Welcome home!

Anyway, the vacation time was nice. I got to spend oodles of time with my parents' dog, the purtiest bundle of joy this side of Reese Witherspoon. We had our family reunion, which was great, but kind of scared me at the same time. See, almost all of my cousins have babies now. Those of us without babies are starting to feel like a band of counterculturist misfits. It doesn't help to be compared to my more genetically blessed relations, either.

I know enough not to resent my sister for being The Smart One, or my brother for being The Talented One, but as a middle child, I've already got deeply ingrained issues about not fitting in that don't need to be exacerbated, thank you very much. Then along comes my cousin Tyler, who is smart, funny, suave, and good-looking, with tons of southern charm (and he's built like a brick shithouse, to boot), plus he's a good cop, a devoted husband, and an doting father of a six-month old. And he's my age. After standing next to him for about five minutes I started to feel like the Jerry Lewis to his Dean Martin. I didn't know I could sink so low.

Anyway, it took a lot of my nine-year old cousin's blind adoration to make me start feeling better about my shiftless, broke-ass life. I may not have money or brains or the slightest clue about what the fuck I'm doing with myself, but if my cousin Sam thinks I'm cool, I can live with that.

PS--I hope you guys are watching Alias like you were told. Damn, is that show good. Just when you think they've packed all the action they could possibly pack, Jennifer Garner whips around and spin-kicks a paraplegic square in the throat. You go, girl!

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Merry Non-Specific Day of Possible Religious Observance

my next adventure: A Missive to an Old Friend

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news