� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� If It's Thursday, It Must Be Amazing
1:09 a.m., 2003-06-28

So I have to start by saying that today actually went so much better than I expected it to. I don�t want to blab about my job again some more, but I would actually go so far as to call today my Best Day At Work Yet. One of my meetings was cancelled, and the other three -- including the dreaded one with The Extremely Testy Ballet -- went as easy as pie.

Is that an actual idiom? �Easy as pie�? I know �nice as pie� is real, but do people really say �easy as pie�, or did I just fuck up? Because if you�ve ever tried to make one from scratch, you know that pie isn�t really very easy. Pound cake -- now, that�s easy!

But I digress. I also wanted to say that I�m quite happy to learn that, as of today, I am allowed to have sex in the state of Texas without being thrown in jail for it. I mean, wow! I almost feel like a real human being now! Next thing you know, I�ll be allowed to get married! No, I guess that�s just crazy talk. We gays can�t get married, because it�s too dangerous. We don�t want kids getting the idea that it�s okay to be different, or whatever, because the next thing you know, the races will mix and women will be wearing pants. I suppose I really shouldn�t make jokes about it, though, because the fact that the intimate relations of two consenting adults actually turned up on the docket of the United States Supreme Court is less funny than sad.

Abruptly shifting gears, another episode of The Amazing Race is in the bag tonight, and it was just as thrilling as ever. Remember everything I said last week? Yeah, just multiply it all times two and you have today�s episode.

Millie is still bossy and insufferable, berating poor Chuck about anything and everything she can, Kelly continues to be snappish and incautious, but somehow manages to come across as feisty and spirited, Chip and Reichen still make poor decisions and come out on top, and Jaree is now about a hair�s breadth from snapping Tian�s neck with her bare hands. In short, it�s awesome.

I think my favorite part is how Tian finally pushed hard enough to cause Jaree to completely snap -- which, based on Jaree�s generally apathetic disposition, is probably quite an accomplishment. But push she did, and when Jaree finally hit that wall, she rebounded with all the fury of Hell�s angels. The rest of the hour was a cavalcade of insults and vague promises of physical violence from the longsuffering team member (Jaree: �You have no idea how much I�d like to rip off your head right now.�), while for her part, Tian retreated into that position so favored by She Who Can Dish It Out But Sure As Hell Can�t Take It. In brief, she became laconic and non-responsive, very clearly feeling the sting of injustice now that the scales of power were tipped in her partner�s favor for once. She actually expressed disappointment when the girls learned they had not been eliminated from the game. Let me put it this way: if she could have, Tian would have taken her toys and gone home.

My other favorite part is how Kelly continues to be bitchy and domineering, and yet I just can�t hate her while Millie is still around. As it is, Kelly is the only one aggressive enough to take Millie on at her own level (which is to say, catty and immature). Ergo, Kelly is the only one with the compulsion to talk shit about the virgin behind her back -- which is a nice, vicarious release for those of us at home who are dumbfounded by the way Millie seems to view her relationship with Chuck the same way Imelda Marcos viewed her relationship with the Philippines, and are really pretty sick of her brand of crap by now. Interestingly, in an interview, Millie reflected (in a passive-aggressive way, natch) that Chuck �doesn�t trust [her]�, and, in a momentous turn, Chuck snatched his spine back from between her teeth by pointing out that she only thinks he doesn�t trust her because he�s developed a nasty habit of not always unquestioningly doing what she tells him anymore.

Anyway, those are my thoughts on The Amazing Race. I�m so glad to have found a summer show, you guys! Last summer was all about American Idol, and I was really quite indignant when they decided to run it during the end of the regular television season this year, up against some shows I was seriously invested in. Plus, I thought, what the hell would I do come June? And now I know. Thank you CBS! And thank you, Jaree and Millie, for making me clutch the edge of my seat and hope for a catfight once again.

I�d like to close by throwing a great big congratulations out to Heather (and, you know, her sister too) for the new additions to the family! I hope the process was as easy as pound cake!

Today�s Quiz: How Well Do You Know Charlie?

1
i make charlie happy in pants.

how well do you know charlie?
brought to you by Quizilla

This is by far my favorite of all the quizzes I�ve taken.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: bruce willis shirtless photo And: Why are sunglasses so expensive? I�m Watching: This special on The Travel Channel about the Top Ten Biggest Bites in the animal kingdom. Did you know hippos� jaws open like 180 degrees? I�m Listening To: Ella Fitzgerald�s �The Lady Is a Tramp�. That woman can sing.

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: If It's Wednesday, You Must Be Paranoid

my next adventure: If It's Friday, It Must Be the Ballet!

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news