� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Giving Grandma Something To Talk About �
1:37 p.m., 2006-05-30

Okay, it�s been over a week since I last updated. How the hell did THAT happen? I used to be so GOOD about that, and now look at me. In my defense, I have been working since a week ago Monday, and I�ve been pretty busy at it. I�m working today, too, but I�m taking a minor break for lunch and to wait for stupid people to email me back. Largely my job consists of emailing sub- or semi-literate douchebags to ask them a couple simple questions they can�t figure out how to answer. I mean, it�s not like I�m demanding that they perform some kind of Herculean labors or anything; I just want them to write me back without using �words� like �danceing� or the phrase �im not to good at that�. It hurts, people. It hurts my soul.

Things you have missed while I�ve been away: Domino got her Master�s Degree and I was lucky enough to be invited to the ceremony! I sat between her roommates and her grandmother. Grandma was very pleasant, but also sort of ignored me most of the time, AND kind of leaned way, way over into my personal space a lot. How do you tell your friend�s grandmother to shove over a little without coming off like an asshole, though? Fortunately for me, Ulrich did me one far, far worse and flipped her off, pretty much negating any possible rudeness on my part by comparison.

It�s actually a whole story, and he didn�t mean it, but boy was it funny at the time. To me, I mean. He was mortified. See, we all went out to dinner after the ceremony, and we had a really great time. Domino is always warning people about how her dad is kind of a tough customer, and everyone�s really scared of him, but he likes me. Like, a LOT. Like he once told Domino he thought the two of us would make a really good couple. She had to explain to him about the whole �gay� thing, and how it doesn�t work between boys and girls, but he still likes me anyway. So he took us all out to dinner, and as we were leaving the restaurant, Ulrich and I were crossing the street when some stupid car turning onto our road honks at us all loud like we were totally out of line in crossing just then.

So Ulrich responds by immediately giving the entire car the finger. It wasn�t until two seconds after he tucked his hand back into his coat that he realized it was Domino�s entire family to whom he�d just given the bird. And then he was really, really embarrassed, and Domino called me on the phone IMMEDIATELY, laughing her ass off because her parents apparently thought it was the funniest thing ever. Which makes me really happy, but I�m still glad I�M not the one who did it. No word on how Grandma took the gesture, but I got the impression she could handle herself in a little Sicilian Hand Jive competition.

Our 3-day weekend was very pleasant, too, you should all know. Lots of pina coladas, lots of good food and goofing off�the works. We went for a really, really fancy dinner on Saturday night at the Queen Mary, though, and boy did we feel out of place. It�s not like we�re all d�class�, or whatever, but it was pretty posh and we�re both rather thrifty. I feel absolutely no shame at all about this � I like to think that someday I�ll be able to afford a down payment on a home or something without having to sell an organ, or a relative � but thrifty spending + fancy dinner = Awkward Moments. Moments like the one where our waiter singled us out as cheapies the second we sat down with his snooty, �will that be bottled water�or from the tap.� And the way he said �tap�, it might as well have meant �toilet�.

Things only got worse when he asked me what I wanted to eat, and I told him I�d be having the soup. �Oh,� he purred in a kind of superior tone, �and what will you have for your entr�e?� I felt like telling him that I was already full from the nice, hot basket of fresh JUDGMENT he�d already served up, but I held my tongue. (You don�t need money to have decorum, after all.) And admittedly it doesn�t look so rude on paper, but it was the WAY he was asking these things in that way where you know they know the answer already, they just want to make you say it OUT LOUD to see if you�ll be suitably ashamed. There are a million ways to ask someone questions like those, I�ll point out, and many of them don�t carry a silent ��you cheap bastard,� at the end.

But enough of that. Time for me to get back to work. Woohoo!

Your Trivia Factoid Is: Versace designed Elton John�s cover for his album �One�. I�m Watching: Passions, and Passions only, now that the regular TV season is finally over. Thank God. I�m Reading: That same book. But I�m very close to finishing!

A Year Ago, I Said:

Right away I had these grand visions of myself, the star witness for the prosecution, storming into the courtroom all Alexis Carrington Colby in my black suit and enormous sunglasses (and probably, like, a cape or some shit), and making a big, dramatic production on the witness stand�the witness stand, people!�and being all up in our country�s legal system. Then I also had visions of getting grilled by a merciless Defense Attorney, determined to publicly humiliate me and call my character and every word into question, and leave me debased and pitiful. And, considering that my original statement and conjectured testimony amount to, �Black car and red car go boom,� I had uneasy feelings of how well I would fare in that arrangement. Plus, I don�t own a black suit.

I, Witness
5-30-2005

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Cinema Buns

my next adventure: Lists Take Less Time

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news