� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Speak of the Devil... �
4:19 p.m., 2004-07-02

Well, the good news is that today we all got an unexpected half-day from Sophie! Hooray! For that very reason, I am now at home, sipping mint juleps and eating bon-bons. Okay, that�s a lie. I�m sipping water and eating a piece of toast, but as opposed to working, that�s just fine by me.

The bad news? Actually, there isn�t really any �bad� news. I didn�t sleep too well last night, because I had these bizarre dreams about paratroopers falling from the sky, and me getting kidnapped by Denzel Washington and Dennis Hopper (?), and then there was this whole weird bit about a baby and I was accused of some kind of crime, and Helen Mirren was smuggling diamonds�I have no idea where the fuck that all came from, but it has all the makings of a Hollywood smash hit! Look what tremendous casting my dreams have!

So the other day I received an email from my long-lost friend Rachel, which was very cool. I think the last time I saw her was New Year�s Eve, 2001, so it was kind of a blast from the past. What makes it a little supernatural, though, is that the night before -- as I was nodding off to my star-studded, action-packed sleep -- I started thinking of Rachel and her visit that fateful New Year�s Eve. We went to a bar to hang out, but it was full of greasy old people, so we went to a different bar, and it was full of greasy young people, and finally we just went to an all-night restaurant. I mean, do we know how to party, or what?

Anyway, what truly makes this occurrence serendipitous and a touch surreal is that this isn�t the first time it�s happened. In fact, before the tail end of 2001, I hadn�t seen Rachel for nearly two years! But, on Thanksgiving, after sating myself with turkey and potatoes and that jiggling red stuff (INTESTINES!)(just kidding -- I mean cranberry sauce), my thoughts turned unaccountably toward Rachel and her fabled exploits. I began regaling KillerWorkout with tales of what I like to call Rachel�s Greatest Hits.

For example? The time three stupid underage kids tried to get her to buy cigarettes for them. They gave her their money, so she bought a candy bar and went to a movie. And I�m sorry, but that�s what you deserve when you blindly give your money to a strange woman with a chip on her shoulder. I told him about the time that Rachel got into a fight with her roommate, and exacted a creative (and downright hilarious) revenge by fashioning 13 tiny nooses and hanging the girl�s Beanie Baby collection from the ceiling of their dorm room.

There a dozen more stories just like those that I could tell, because Rachel is That Girl. In any case, it wasn�t but the very next day when my phone rang and a familiar voice -- one I hadn�t heard in about two years -- sounded in my ear. So you see, there�s a wacky precedent for this, and I�m at a loss to explain it. Perhaps it�s just coincidence (although I�ve established before that I don�t really believe in coincidences), but I find it quite intriguing.

I haven�t had a chance to write her back yet, but when I do, I�ll be sure to fill you all in on what that crazy girl�s been doing with herself. In the meantime, have a happy Fourth of July, all y�all that celebrate it! And for those that don�t, have a happy (belated) Canada Day, and a happy (prompt) Palio � Corsa di cavalli (whatever the heck that is -- it�s on my calendar, but there�s no explanation or whatever).

Someone Got Here By Searching For: �dumped for someone else� I�m Reading: The new Entertainment Weekly. And Listening To: One hell of a screaming match happening in one of the neighboring apartment buildings. That shit always makes me nervous for some reason.

A Year Ago, I Said:

Me: So. Mom tells me you knocked yourself out this afternoon.

KillerWorkout: Yeah, I guess I did.

Me: You �guess�?

KillerWorkout: Well, I don�t remember much. It�s all kind of foggy.

Me: Did you go to the hospital?

KillerWorkout: Probably.
So, How Long Have You Had Amnesia?
7-3-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: It Don't Mean a Thing if it Ain't Got That (Mood) Swing

my next adventure: On the Road Again

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news