� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Sloppy Joe �
10:43 a.m., 2004-03-04

It�s a good thing I�m feeling energetic this morning, because that whirlwind of which I spoke yesterday hasn�t exactly decreased in speed or volume. In fact, a few moments ago I very narrowly dodged a metaphorical cow. Well, bring it on, whirlwind!

Actually, don�t bring it on. Forget I said anything. If you need me, I�ll be under my desk with a bag of Ho-Ho�s�.

You�ll be happy to know that I�m branching out. By which I don�t mean that I�m starting a franchise of journals, because although that would kind of cool, and certainly a step in the right direction toward eventually overtaking the globe, I don�t think I have enough stamina to maintain more than one regularly updated site. No, by branching out I mean that I am now the bitch of more than just one cooking show. Yes, this entry is about TV (sort of). Suck it up.

Although I am still completely obsessed with Rachael Ray (whom I loathe profoundly), experiencing the occasional dalliance with Martha Stewart (we don�t all have our own chicken coops, Martha, quit rubbing it in), I have rediscovered a forgotten love: Sara Moulton, Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine.

I say forgotten, but I suppose that isn�t really true as I never really "forgot" about the torrid affair I had with Sara Moulton, Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine back when I was living in Chicago and she was the host of Cooking Live. Her show would come on every day at 6:00, just as I was getting home, and we would work out together. Those really were the days. But then they cancelled that program and put her in a different one, Sara�s Secrets, which sounds like something on the Spice Channel.

Anyway, Sara�s Secrets now comes on after From Martha�s Kitchen, and I don�t usually watch it, as it just isn�t as practical. I mean, granted Martha Stewart is generally anything but practical, but she�s just so surreal that you kind of can�t turn away (seriously, Martha, I don�t have a chicken coop). However, while 30 Minute Meals is pertinent to those with little in the way of time and, to a lesser extent, budget, Sara�s Secrets is really just kind of a straightforward, more high-end cooking show.

Last night, however, they decided to mix it up a little! People wrote in requesting that Sara Moulton, Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine, show them how to make very specific foods they�d enjoyed as children. The first dish, for example, was the Sloppy Joe served by a school cafeteria somewhere in Texas. And the best part of all was the obvious distaste that Sara Moulton, Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine, expressed at having to make Sloppy Joe on her program.

She kept chuckling condescendingly and talking about how "basic" the recipe was, and how they had to dress it up a little, because they "just couldn�t help [them]selves". But underneath it all, you could totally tell she was thinking, "I am Sara Moulton, Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine! I went to culinary school! I do not MAKE Sloppy Joe!" Everything she said about the recipe was positively soaked in gourmet superiority, like, "Of course we�re using ground TOP SIRLOIN, although the RECIPE only calls for ground �chuck�," and the way she pronounced 'chuck�, you�d think it meant �children�.

Of course, I can�t slam on her too much. After all, Sara Moulton, Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine, did live in my hometown for a while, and worked at a local restaurant. So I have to show a little unity. And to be fair, though there�s absolutely nothing wrong with Sloppy Joe, it is a dish far better suited to the conditions of a program like 30 Minute Meals, rather than one hosted by the Executive Chef of Gourmet magazine. So I�ll give her a little credit there.

Then again, what do I know about it? I�m the one under his desk, scarfing down a bag of Ho-Ho�s�.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: tattoo eyeliner "cover up" And: "Sarah Jessica Parker" signing I�m Watching: The O.C., and it just keeps getting more glorious with every trashy second. And: Sara�s Secrets. I think the secret is that she works for Gourmet magazine.

A Year Ago, I Said:

"Once, we got on the school bus and she found a crisp, new five spot on the floor under her seat. Me? I found an old, manky toothbrush. And a comb. Money hates me."
Money Talks. Shut Up, Money.
3-4-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Reality Check

my next adventure: The Point Has Left the Building

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news