� Memoirs of an Evil Genius �
Conquering the World, One Martini at a Time

� Sick and Tired �
11:56 a.m., 2004-05-10

It�s almost like a day off over here at Arts-Friendly, because our email system is down again! I know I shouldn�t sound quite that excited. It�s a lot like when I used to stay home from school, sick. Sure, I wasn�t at school and that was great�but I couldn�t really enjoy the day, because I felt like crap, and it wasn�t like I got a free pass on all the homework I was missing, either. Nothing is more insulting that barfing in the morning and having your sister bring you all your homework in the afternoon. And of course, you don�t know how to do any of it, because you missed all the classes, and now you�re completely screwed, and�I think I�m getting off-track.

Actually, screw the track. I used to really enjoy sick days! I mean, not the �sick� part, so much, but the day off part was awesome. And I mean, really, the worst of the sick part only lasted for a day or so, and then it was all about the recovery. It was like a vacation, because I wouldn't have to go to school, and all I was expected to do was lie around like third base and watch TV all day. My mom would bring me toast and soup (I had a big thing about toast, don�t ask me why), and she�d rent me movies, and no one would hassle me�those were the days.

The best illnesses lasted about three days. By the second day, you were no longer so sick that you were uncomfortable in your own skin, so you were able to enjoy the lying around, and by the third day, you were pretty much just milking it. That was great. Ahh, the milking. I remember quite transparently believing that the rate of my recovery was tied directly to the amount of toast my mother would be willing to bring me at my eight-year-old behest. I spent an entire day exaggerating various maladies so I could prolong my toast privileges. Maybe that makes me weird, I don�t know. All I know is that I ate an entire damn loaf of hot, buttered toast that day, and it remains one of my fondest second-grade triumphs.

If it went on for more than three days, you were kind of in for it, though. I learned that lesson the hard way when I was in the eighth grade. I got some weird virus that lasted about a week, and then I just couldn�t recover from it. I was laid up for another week after that, sleeping fourteen hours a night sometimes. It was awful, too, because I got real behind on my homework, and my parents made me do it every night, and I had no energy, so it took forever and wore me out, and then I would sleep for fourteen hours and go through it all over again the next day. Then my Dad decided that watching TV all day wasn�t "healthy", and I was only allowed an hour and a half a day -- an hour and a half! A DAY! I can�t do that even now, when I�m healthy!

So I would lie there on the couch, staring at the wall. Then I would try to read and I�d fall asleep. Then I�d wake up, watch TV for a half-hour, and stare at the wall again. It was miserable. So I highly recommend only getting sick for about three days at a time.

Anyway, that�s what today is like. It�s sort of nice, because I can�t do much without my email capabilities, but the knowledge that it�s all just backing up is a little unsettling. Plus, I can�t just lie around watching TV and eating toast.

This sucks.

Someone Got Here By Searching For: jack in the box wedding commercial I�m Watching: The Simpsons, and I�m really glad their stupid pay dispute is settled, now. I�m Reading: Kissing in Manhattan, by David Schickler. It�s okay -- a little too pretentious, though.

A Year Ago, I Said:

If Josh wasn�t in the bottom two, would Kimberley Locke go, or would one of the other boys? Were there actually people out there voting for Josh because they honestly thought he had musical talent? Who were these people? What show were they really watching? What the hell was wrong with them?
Three Simple Words
5-8-2003

� 2005 by Dr. No, all rights reserved; you break it, you buy it.



Keep abreast of the progress in my global conquest! Sign up here and get notified when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


my last adventure: Folly Anna

my next adventure: Eat, Drink, and Be Quick About It.

� look around �
my brilliant new plan
my fiendish archives
contact me
guestbook
random genius
landlord
dancing brave
go fug yourself
gwentropy
knee deep in the hoopla
may day
mister zero
rusty nail
so that happened
ultratart
my decorator
check out the news